Experiment With Garden Seedlings Started In Rockwool

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Update on Rockwool Seedling Medium


Two weeks into starting my cold weather plants first, collards, kale, chard, artichokes, lettuce, spinach, bok choi, cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, and brussel sprouts.

Six days into starting tomatoes, cucumbers, leeks, basil, celery, catnip, thyme, lemon balm, birdhouse bottle gourd, chamomile, eggplant, and soapwart.

Tomorrow I'll be starting more tomatoes, peppers, pumpkins, and squash.

Pro and Con introduction to Rockwool seed pots for hydroponics and outdoor seedlings.


All my seedlings are establishing a good root system. I had a fungus problem starting and used diluted food grade perioxide spray on the seedlings, which also promotes root growth because of peroxides oxygenation effect. Peroxide kills mold, fungus, and bugs.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Hello @RedDust,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you, I'm honored 🙏

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.41 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

These are my 2 cents: rockwool causes root root by inviting an anaerobic and unstable environment for the roots. I have used rockwool before and I have found styrofoam cells on a floating table as a much more superior and endlessly reusable compared to rockwool.

https://www.groworganic.com/speedling-transplant-tray-72-cell.html
https://www.groworganic.com/speedling-transplant-tray-128-cell.html
I found out about them from https://www.youtube.com/user/thebossoftheswamp

hopefully you've staved off the mold and fungus and those beautiful seedlings take root soon. I'm personally looking into aquaponics so I can have a steady supply of fish too. Of course, I'm the only one who eats fish so I have to keep that in mind when I begin to put that system together.
I can't wait to see your garden bloom. :D

Thank you @merej99, I am going for an interview for partime office or personal assistant interview tomorrow. The money I earn will go into a hydro/auquaponics system plus coding classes for me and the grandkids this summer🤑

I love the process of gardening almost as much as eating the veggies🌱🌱🌱

Good luck on your interview!
I used to kill everything but in the last few years I've managed to have a thriving bucket garden. But when I moved I couldn't take them with me. They were too heavy! :(
I think I miss my blueberry bush and orange tree the most.

You couldn't take them with you ....oh noooo (hugs)

What are you using as your light source -- your windows? I'm hoping to see some true leaves in your next post! That would mean you are on your way to a lot of seedlings and a great garden! :D

The windows are our light source. I'll be taking the seeds outside for more light once they've all sprouted.

I guess you have more sun in Oklahoma this time of year, than when you were back in Oregon! ; )

Tons of sunshine🌸🌼🌺

We are still living in the clouds here in Oregon! It hasn't really stopped since October. I'll take it, though, much better than drought! Happy spring!

The west coast is getting drenched, omg, cali is drowning!

It's very beautiful garden :)
I like it ...Thank you for sharing !!

Thank you @djsonic, my Grandkids are getting to learn how to tell the difference between seedlings.

The shoots are very good, and what good varieties you planted, arduous maintenance work but then it is very satisfactory to see the fruit of the work congratulations dear friend @reddust

The next part of the experiment is seeing if the seedlings can grow some true leaves and are easy to transplant using Rockwool. Thank you friend @jlufe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59