Sort:  

You're welcome. And thank you for the compliment. I'm glad you liked it. Aquaponics can seem like a complicated science experiment, but once you get going it's not much more difficult than having a fish tank.

How many sq/ft do you think you are growing plant material in?
What do you think your approximate investment is, in your particular set-up?

The grow bed area is approx 11 sqft and a foot deep. The IBC tote was US$125 and the grow media around $100 (I’m using expanded clay, which is on the pricier end). The pump, water heater and tubing were each around $20. So all in, it was just under $300. The area is facing southeast, so the sun is providing light from spring-fall. I use a small UFO LED light w/ blue and red spectrum to boost growth in the winter. I think this was around $80. With the size of the holding tank, I could add more fish and another grow bed, but right now I’m keeping the size manageable. Hope this helps.

Yes it does thank you. I think you've still come in around $400. Relatively inexpensive production costs for nutritionally dense food...year round I might add!
Well done!

I haven’t been measuring the output, but I get a big bunch of basil every 2 weeks just from the 3 basil plants. This would cost $2 at the grocery store…about $50/year. I’ve grown tomatoes, peppers and even 1 small melon over the summer (total grow bed overload – nitrate level dropped to zero). I’m shifting the focus to herbs (basil, parsley, cilantro and chives) because I think those would provide the best return per sqft. Swiss chard and radishes will probably make an appearance as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64