A Ginkgo Biloba or Maidenhair Tree, The Significance Is That It's Growing In Canada.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Today I learned that the Ginkgo tree, which is actually native to China, can survive in Canada as long as it is heavily protected on 3 sides.

                        

This is significant considering that allegedly, this tree was planted on a lark many years ago. No one thought it would survive. Yet, here it grows and can be found carefully nestled between two buildings in the small rural village of Stirling, Ontario Canada.

This is about a 10 minute drive from where @knarly327 and I currently live. The landscaping around the tree is interlocking brick and the trunk itself, is protected by a small iron fence.

In Chinese medicine, the fruit of the tree, in which it is aptly named for, was incorrectly, spelled as it was translated   from Japanese. The name is supposed to mean "silver apricot".

When I started to research it, I learned that the tree is prized for both its leaves and its nuts which are similar to that of a cashew. In fact, so similar, that careful handling of the tree's material should be observed because it can cause similar blistering to the skin as does mangoes, cashews and poison ivy. (You will definitely want to wear gloves handling the leaves and fruit of this tree. Thankfully, yesterday, I just took pictures of it for you and didn't actually touch the tree.)

The nuts and leaves are most predominantly used for treating dementia and to enhance cognitive function.

It will also amp up the ability of anticoagulants like coumadin (warfarin) or aspirin which means that care must be taken by any individuals who want to integrate this plant medicine in the form of a dietary supplement with these pharmaceuticals. The risk being, excessive bleeding that cannot easily be stopped.

The other thing that I learned about this tree today is that it requires both a male and a female tree in order to produce its fruit.

The tree (in my area) doesn't generally produce flowers. At least, I have never observed it doing so and I suspect it is a male tree.

                           

As you can see, it has a very interesting leaf structure with 2 distinct  lobes.

About a month ago, my good friend @natureofbeing custom made a tile for one of her clients who commissioned her to do so. If you missed her post, you can view it here: https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/gingko-tile-project-progress-and-firing . She captured the intricate details, including the subtle striations in the leaves beautifully and if you haven't discovered her art yet, please follow her. I promise you, you will not be disappointed. ;)

                        

As you can see, this tree is wedged between 2 buildings and it doesn't have much space to expand. This level of protection from the wind and the snow that we receive in Canada is what I suspect is allowing it to flourish.

                        

It's also facing east, so it gets morning sun. It might also be taking advantage of some radiant heat coming off the bricks and from the metal cladding of the buildings surrounding it.

                        

It's an interesting "very out of place" gardening specimen.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan


Sort:  

I've been pretty fortunate when it comes to poison oak and ivy; I've never been vulnerable to them. Everyone else that I know is though!

I remember seeing the post from natureofbeing, she does excellent work!

Yes, I couldn't agree more. She is the real deal. ;)

I have some good experience of ginkgo biloba growing, check out my new, homegrown ginkgo, it's just 3 month old
gin.jpg

Wow!! It looks good and healthy @anominous! Did you start it from a nut/seed?

Yes it's from nut,I collect them at botanical garden and then try to grow,unfortunately not all seeds are giving result

Have you had to be careful handling it? Have you had any skin irritations from it?

Nothing like skine irritation,I'm drinking tea of gingko's leafs many years so.. :)

Actualy they're easy handling,normal humidity of soil is best for gingko,they dont need lot of attention.at dry soil they can also live long time, and no need special nuttrient

What kind of climate are you growing in? We have a lot of wind, snow and very cold temperatures here.

I'm living at temperate climate zone, winter is here enaugh cold too, but summer is very hot,what can I say about gingko is that this plant is most resistant I've seen,Only starting of -14 degree It feels bad

Ginko is not only its own genus but the RNA is so different that it doesn't fit any current paradigm of "evolution" except weird ideas like transdimensional or extraterrestrial. It has a very unique genetic structure you and I have more in common with a banana than it has with any other known plant.

That's a very magical healing tree , many plants and trees have power to heal and curse things we can not even imagine . When I was in Pakistan recently and ate some plant leaves from there it cured my throats and my sickness , that's just one example . Nature does wonders to our body , we shouldn't ever take it for granted . Thank you Rebecca

@rebeccaryan
Always finding the unusual and educating us. This post is a change from the food and icing. I want to go back to that. Ha
I don't have much need for medicine of any kind. Just a daily dose of your blog does wonders for me. lol
I do take vitamins and minerals daily though. Your tree might have me leaping over tall buildings. Ha

Francis

Well, let's just say if anyone of us needs special plant-based medicine of any kind, I'm probably your girl. LOL! I'm pretty good in the kitchen with all things green and a few things that aren't.

I don't know a whole lot about trees but trees with a tight bark like that one can stand cold weather. it looks like there is two types of leaves or is that something else growing beside it

One tree but the leaf structure has 2 distinct sections.

We also have one Gingko tree in the neighborhood. I was not aware that it is used as medicine as well. A lot of wonders by mother nature. Thank you for sharing.

What country are you from @jamjamfood? I'm trying to get a sense for where these trees are growing.

I live in Nordrhine Westphalia, Germany. :-)

its too briliant u are also a resacher of medicine on plant and really feel good to hear about this interested tree and ur research hope u get success in and some otehrs and make a good medicine in medical world mam

I had no idea that Ginkgo Biloba tree or mangoes, cashews and poison ivy can cause blistering to the skin!

It is amazing to see how nature defies whatever jurisdiction we may put on it. We can attempt to control nature but in the end it will do as it wants and if anything live longer as we fade away and it still prospers.
Really interesting to learn about the Maidenhair Tree @rebeccaryan and the power it has to help those with dementia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81