You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Grow Peas: Literally Everything You Need To Know!

in #gardening7 years ago

You've just reminded me of why peas were my favorite thing to grow in the garden! They grow so fast and not many wild critters realize that they're food. Total (nearly) instant gratification! It's been too long since I grew them and I am totally inspired to get prepped to do it next spring,

When I was growing up I didn't know that there were any varieties except English peas. We used to just set a bowl of peas in pods on the table for supper and everyone would shell their own. English peas do have an extremely tough membrane on the inside of the pod but (just like peeling the label off your beer) it can be peeled off the rest of the pod which can be eaten. It isn't quite as good as the peas themselves and involves too much work to be a viable thing to do for a dinner dish but it was fun to peel and eat a few at the end of dinner while you're sitting and talking.
Sort:  

Yeah, I have become addicted to peas! Funny because I used to hate them as a kid. My mom used to force me to eat them and then ground me if I didn't. Now I'm growing 10+ varieties in the garden at any given time!

Thanks for dropping by, and for the tip on the English peas!

How funny! I have a brother who absolutely hated peas unless they were fresh from the garden. I can understand how there is certainly a difference in taste though.

I love these posts that get me back in touch with the things I've loved.

Glad to spread the joy!

reminded me of grandma's garden :) Nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44