The figs are ON in Southern Utah! This is the kadota variety.

in #gardening6 years ago

d93de593-7ea4-4c7a-b492-f3bfa73d4ba8.jpeg

1829eeb2-eb40-4181-a6b5-ea4426145b49.jpeg

360ddc2c-7020-4c5f-850f-0fc735f2b175.jpeg

8171eb41-77c3-447f-8e3c-9af8e038a250.jpeg

378712c1-bd79-4589-8094-9c4dea401f80.jpeg

b92df4e8-7860-405c-a5f8-d0db38d6f233.jpeg

d0bd8064-a894-44a4-a146-328626912e7e.jpeg


We have four fig trees in our food forest. The hardiest and biggest producer...by far...is the kadota fig. Year after year...she puts off dense crops. The birds tend to leave them alone which I’ve wondered if it’s because of the outer skin color being yellowish green. They might think they aren’t ready yet lol. Super super sweet figs! Cheers steepshot and steemit!!!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Lucky you to have such a lovely well producing fig tree. I love figs and bought a fig seedling to see if I could grow it in a container here in Canada - zone 3 garden. I thought I would have to take it outside for the summer then bring it in to the sunroom for the winter - totally not necessary! My fig tree which has grown to quite a size now and loaded with figs (although much smaller than yours) starts to produce figs in February when the light starts to return so I just keep it in my sun room all year round (I had transplanted it into a large and heavy clay pot so I don't think I would be able to move it in and out.) I'm thinking I might try a larger fruiting size variety since I'm growing it indoors. It sounds like the Kadota might be a good variety to try.

wow!!! your fig sunroom sounds amazing!!!! i love that you're growing them in zone 3!!!!!!! thank you so much for your intentional comment @porters !!! :) i think you would LOVE kadota! there's so many to choose from though....for us fig lovers! i've been following a person on youtube.. growing figs in PA. he pulls them into his garage for the winter. he talks about the black madeira fig...as being the holy grail of figs! so many cool cultivars out there. i want to grow them ALL! check out his YT channel for more fig JOY! here's the black madeira.

Thanks for the info will be checking those other varieties out.

Thanks for the info
Will be checking those other
Varieties out.

                 - porters


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

What they look like on your taste? How old it this fig tree?

they are very sweet!!!! the tree is about 10 years old. :)

Love fresh figs! I had only known dried figs before I started my own food forest and planted two fig trees. They taste nothing like the dried figs in bags purchased from stores. I truly believe most people don't know what real food taste like anymore unless they are growing their own. On top of that, you know you are growing mineral rich food to feed your family and to maintain great health. You guys are awesome!

i can totally relate!!! lol!!! my only experience with most fruit...before our food forest....was dried fruit like figs. yah....eating one off the tree...sunkissed and warm...it just soooooo mind changing! felt!!!! cheers on growing them in mineral rich soil!!!! ;) yessssss!!!!!!!! you're getting me all excited over here! truly inspired and full of HOPE!!!!!!!!!!! you guys are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i truly appreciate you taking the time to stop by...and check out the posts on our forest. HONORED!!!!! thank you @thelaundrylady :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55