You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainable Aquaponics - How I Grew 220 Pounds Of Food On 16 Square Feet

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

This is some next level gardening man! Fck, it just goes to show that the tools are there for society to feed itself in a sustainable way but commercial farmers don't want to fork out initial investment or something. It boggles my mind why this isn't a standard, especially in hot arid places. I'd heard of aquaponics before but seeing it in action like this really brought home how sustainable it is as a growing method.

Do you use solar power for this Luzcypher?

This system would be perfect for me as a piscitarian (I don't eat meat, only fish, dairy & veg). If I manage to fulfil my dream of moving to the tropics I'm building me one of these bad boys and eating fish stir fry every evening 😉

Sort:  

I used regular electricity but it could be solar powered very easily. The only electricity used is a small pump so one solar panel, battery, and inverter would do the trick. You could even use a dc pump and not need an inverter.

Plus, you don't need to be in the tropics. Tilapia are very hardy fish and as long as the water doesn't freeze it would work. I visited a commercial aquaponics farm in Washington State near Seattle where they kept the fish in a greenhouse and it worked fine. But you do need plants growing at all times for it to work unless you had another filter system for winter. If at any time the plants stop growing the fish would die without a backup filter.

》 Plus, you don't need to be in the tropics. Tilapia are very hardy fish and as long as the water doesn't freeze it would work.

I'm just looking for any excuse to get out if the UK tbh. Interesting what you're telling me though. I do have a greenhouse on a friend's allotment plot but where I live now is a communal garden and there is a lunatic in the downstairs apartment who would mess with it or complain to landlords if I built a system out back. I think I'd definitely need a greenhouse here as winter sees frozen water but I've grown lettuce and other greens like spinach in the greenhouse over winter. Biggest problem with the greenhouse on the allotments is no electricity and also it's not secure. Someone would steal it within 6 months.

Ha ha, again I'm just trying to talk myself into robbing a bank and running away somewhere hot, buying a bit of land to grow some stir fry ingredients 🤣😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I know the feeling. I'm in Vietnam right now and all the farmers are planting their crops everywhere. I'm missing my garden.

You could try something small with an aquarium like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69093.99
ETH 3768.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44