How to Grow Sweet Potato Crops Sustainably! Comprehensive Tutorial. One of My favorite and Most abundant Crops!

in #gardening8 years ago

It is almost fall, which means its almost sweet potato harvest time!

Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite crops for many reasons:

#1 SUSTAINABILITY: Because sustainability is essential to me, I love this crop because it is a very easy to grow and abundantly producing crop for my grow area, which makes it a very sustainable food choice. 

#2 STORAGE: It is a food of which is very important in a homesteading lifestyle because you can keep them all winter long to eat off, without having to dehydrate, can, freeze or preserve. 

#3 HEALTH: For a cooked food, they are a very healthy food. 

#4 TASTE: This is a subjective one, but I and many others, find sweet potatoes to be VERY delicious and as a chef, I can attest to their wide application to culinary cuisine. You can make breakfast, lunches, or dinners and even desserts with sweet potatoes. 

With that being said, I am sure to grow an abundantly healthy sweet potato patch each year and have had success for many years straight. 

In this video, I go into great depth and explanation as well as step-by-step video demonstration of how to grow sweet potatoes from sweet potatoes, and of course since this is done in The Garden of Eden the process is done by the utmost sustainable standards! I will make a video and post about harvesting as well, right around our first freeze day.

So I won't go into the details any more with writing as the video is quite comprehensive and covers a lot!

I find this video very educational and also enjoyable as there are many glimpses into the magical life that we live, not just quality sustainable information!

May this enrich your life~

∞§∞Blessings∞§∞







Sort:  

Potatoes have one of, in not the, highest satiety indexes of all foods.

Eating 100 calories of potato has the equivalent "fullness factor" as that of eating over 350 calories of white bread!

Intresting and informative. I didn't have any idea how to plant a sweet potato until now.

It's funny, I've always hated sweet potatoes..that is in till I met the Chefs of the GOE! And we can eat the greens! Let's plant a bigger crop and get y'all into a sweet potatoe contest :)

Great Idea!
Thanks for the comment and contribution to this post!

Do you mean the you can eatleaves of the sweet potato ?

Gotta give them space to grow and soft soil! Thanks for sharing and great video. Like your hat in the video too! Looks like you have a lot of space to grow lots of superfoods! :)

btw, I use to live in Plano Texas! :) Everything​ is bigger in Texas, including the plants!

Hahahahaha yes Texas is for the BIG boys hahaha

Yes The Garden of Eden is awesome and there are lots of super foods!
Glad you enjoyed the post!

👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼 yes! Thanks for the share.

This is really well done. Thanks for sharing this great and useful information. It won't be long and the sweet feast will begin. By the way, thanks for not wearing a shirt. wink

Hahhahahahaha
I appreciate your participating here and also your contributions every day in the GOE!

I'm getting excited!!! I see that some of them are beginning to mound up out of the soil which means soon....very soon!!! I love that they last into the winter. What a great video. Super comprehensive. With all those kisses and lovin' they're going to be sweet!!!

Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite foods! It's fantastic to see them growing and thriving, and it's super satisfying to dig dinner right out of the ground. This is a great video!

I know, Its so fun to just dig em up like treasure!

Sweet! They're really a beautiful plant too.

Thanks for the demo.

YES ~ Sweet potato vines grow wild, from our vegetable scraps that have been dug into the garden ~ And we harvest them, along with other greens and 'weeds' like dandelion and chickweed for our green smoothies. There can be so much nutritional goodness in one's garden.

Yes I will be writing an article on "wildcrafting" here very soon!

I love Sweet Potatoes. Such a versatile and abundant crop. Only issue is the Native Australian Brush Turkey also loves them.

We don't have any of those around so not problem here. As I say one of the keys to sustainability is growing what works for the local situation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00