Propogating House Plants - Momma Jade and Babies are doing just fine!

in #gardening6 years ago

Jades (Crassula ovata) are one of my very favorite house plants. They are a household succulent, easy to care for and very easy to propagate. This Jade is a cutting from a Plant I received as a house warming gift back in 1988, when I first moved out. I had her until Chad and I moved to Guatemala. Before moving, I took cuttings from most of my larger plants. They were easier to manage since I was going to have to get a plant sitter, and I gave the mature ones away. Broke my heart. So anyway, this one was started in 2014 from the Mature Mother Plant and began as a cutting about 4” long. The Mother Plant stayed with our Home that we sold in Tennessee.

I wasn't planning on propogating any moreJades right now, but we had a minor plant incident during a get together first of December and some leaves got knocked off. I sure wasn’t going to toss them out, so there began the opportunity for some baby jades. I laid these leaves on a window sill for about a week to allow a callus to form where it broke away from the Mother Plant. Once a callus is formed I put those ends in water and wait until they root and start to form tiny new leaves. I like to use a jar lid or something small with a rim, then you can lay the leaf out of water, leaning on the side. These below need the roots just a little longer, I think.

Once tiny leaves start appearing you can go ahead and transplant to a pot. It was exactly two months from the time the leaves came off until they were potted. Jade trees like to be root bound so make sure you don’t put these in a huge pot. I used 2” pots and they were plenty big enough. I put a few tiny rocks in the bottom of the pots and then filled them with dirt. Jades are Native Plants from Africa and grow in dry, rocky soil. Do not use dirt with alot of organic matter or peat moss that holds in moisture. It will cause the roots to rot, then the jade trunk rots from inside. It will get mushy on the inside and eventually turn black, then die. If this ever happens you can propagate any parts that look good but not the trunk. Please don't ask me how I know :( I got some dirt at the woods edge that was very dry and my Jade is growing very well in it. They do not require good soil. I am telling you they are a great houseplant and one for beginners so long as you give it light and a little water every now and then. You could plant a couple of the leaves together if you want. Take your finger and make a small indention in the dirt. I lay the leaf down and make sure all the new, tiny roots are underneath, then push the soil up around the bottom of the leaf. I usually don’t cover any baby leaves. For the first week I try to keep the soil kind of damp since they have been used to being in water. They should take off growing immediately. I continued to keep them in my window sill, so I can keep them turned.

Jade plants need full sun. If they do not get full sun, they tend to get leggy (tall and not many leaves). I have my Jade sitting in a South Facing window. There is Bright light from sun up until around 3PM . I make sure to turn my plants at least every other week, but if I am honest I probably turn them every week.This really helps keep their shape uniform. This is important as your Jade matures so that it will be able to stand straight and tall. If there are Limbs that grow out and get too long they will eventually sag and normally break. Doesn't look too good either. I need to trim mine a little and that was going to be my propagation this year, but now I have extras. You can start any pieces you trim off same as the leaves. Let it callus, put end in water and root, plant in small pot. Keep a little damp until you see it is growing.

Jade plants do not like their roots to be soggy. This is likely the main no-no for a jade plant. Let the Jade dry out between waterings. You can put your finger in the dirt and if it is dry then water. If the dirt is pulling from the sides, get to watering cause the Jade has sucked all the moisture out. It is easy to tell if you just check. I water mine until a little water comes out the drainage holes. This makes sure all of the roots will be given a drink. Then I wait until it is dry before I water again. I try to check all of my plants every week, to see if they need to be watered.

Things I have learned about Jade Trees over the last 30 years

• I do not feed my Jades Fertilizer, but I would if I needed to nurse it back to health for some reason. I think it
makes them grow tall and spindly. I like mine short and stocky!
• I always let my water I boil eggs in cool down and I water my plants with it.
• I let my water I boil any vegetables in cool down and then I water my plants with it. My Momma always did and her
plants were amazing, so I do too.
• I keep 2 bottles under my sink filled with water for my plants. We have well water and it is perfect, but
Momma kept a two-liter bottle of tap water under her sink to water her plants, and they were beautiful. She told
me when you let it sit all the bad stuff comes out thats not good for your plants (the chlorine will evaporate). She
was right 😊. So, I am just doing what Momma always did. I sure Miss her.
• Turn your jade see so it does not start leaning towards the sun or light. If it doesn’t start branching out and just
keeps growing tall, pinch the very ends off and leaves will grow back in no time. It will get top heavy if you don’t.
• Cut a 2- to 4-inch stem with leaves from a friend's jade plant if you are not buying one or have not been given a
cutting. Don’t get caught!
• I add or change out the top soil every two to four years. I repot when the Jade has gotten WAY too big for its pot.
Remember, they like to be root bound.
• If your Jade Tree you have had for a long time is not doing good anymore, I would recommend repotting. If you use
a bigger pot, only use a slightly larger one. I think Jade trees do better in terracotta or stone pots, something that
can breathe.
• In the Spring after danger of last frost, I take my Jade out. If it is really hot at first, I might bring it back in during the
afternoon. Their leaves can get sunburnt. Not kidding!
• It takes many years for a Jade to flower and the environment needs to be near perfect. If your Jade is blooming
you have been doing a great Job and cherish the moment. You are Lucky!

Momma Jade and Babies are doing just fine. The snaps below are from this morning 3/14/18.
Happy Gardening!
Kimberly

Sort:  

Looking great!! ♥
Love the tip about using boiled egg water for plants! I have been using water from veggies, but using the egg water had not occurred to me. :D
Thanks!

Awesome. I use the egg water and shells on my tomatoes in the summer. They love the calcium boost.
Thank you!

Beautiful jade plants. I haven't had any for years. Perhaps it's time I started growing them again :}

Thank you! I can really tell the difference in their growth with our new Sunny Window! I hope you get one soon!

Nice article on Crassula ovata. Thanks for providing so many tips on Jade Trees with more than 30 years experience.

Well, thank you very much and I appreciate the upvote and you stopping by and reading my post.

squeee

i love seeing other people's jade plants! my cuttings are also doing well, the leaves that i had sitting out aren't doing much, and i keep meaning to do a post about one of the plants i was sure might not make it.

YAY JADE!

Cool! Glad to hear yours are doing well too. I love houseplants- A lot! I spend a lot of time with them and I believe that is kinda like my meditation. I can't live without it. Thank you for reading my post and THANK YA so much for the resteem! Can't wait to hear about your plant. I have a greenhouse epic fail I will blog about when I get my feelings off my sleeve :(

right?! houseplants are such joys to have around =D
i think we share energy back and forth, when we're hovering and puttering and meditating with them.

Great detailed article. I noticed your amethysts and other crystals out next to the lid with the leaves. Were they just there for decoration or did you put them there on purpose to enhance the energy?

I would like to say I put them there for energy but I just love pretty rocks, crystals and gems. Chad and I went mining a couple of years ago and those are a few I mined. I just love them. I am glad to know they are for energy and I am happy you enjoyed my post. Thank you!

I love rocks and crystals, regardless of whether or not they add energy. They must add something if they're loved.

What a really great post about jades! I have a jade my husband's grandmother gave me for Christmas in 1974. It's been to FL and back. It lives in the greenhouse window over my sink. It's flowering here.

Jade plant crop Dec. 06.jpg

What a gem! It is beautiful. My original bloomed only twice in about 20 years. I sure hope this cutting I kept blooms too, one day. I am patient so I will just keep hoping :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87