The Carrot Harvest - Atlast an actual carrot!

in #gardening7 years ago

The time of year has come fellow Steemians for the first of the carrots to be harvested.

Last year was a disaster they grew no more than slightly enlarged worm. This year however I am beaming with delight at my heirloom carrots!

GMFree Organic and heirloom Carrots including the purples ones. Carrots were orginally purple before we only grew orange ones.

How is everyone elses allotments going this year?IMG_20170723_140217_532.jpg

Sort:  

Nice! I just started with simple herbs parsley and cilantro. I'm in Grande Prairie, Alberta and our winter makes things difficult to harvest.

Thats great! Even herbs- There the one thing I seem to kill everytime.

I'm in Wales in the UK so we get harsh winters here too and a short growing season too. A storm ravaged my garden this year but some things like the carrots have prevailed!

i am seeing this purple carrot first time @pumpkinsandcats

Hey, its called a Dragon purple, their Heirloom seeds from http://www.realseeds.co.uk/carrots.html

Such beautiful carrots you've got! Congratulations! I planted a packet of carrot seeds that had a variety of colors and so far only the white ones were ready! I'm wondering whether the other colors will make nice sized carrots or if they've put all their energy into the tops....will see pretty soon I hope! Thanks for sharing!

Theres nothing worse then when they dont grow. Mine dis that last year. Plenty of water is the key i think.

Beautiful carrots. Nothing like fresh carrots from the garden. Unfortunately, my seed was old and it did not germinate. Will get new seed next year. I have saved seed from my carrots in the past. Time to get back to that.

I cant wait to eat them!! Thinking Carrot cake or normally roasted

Now carrot cake is a weakness of mine, especially with fresh carrots.

I was debating not doing a carrot cake as I didnt want to take away the flavour. So I may use some in a cake and some roasted or raw!

second choice would be raw. I prefer most vegetables raw (at least what I grow). Heirloom carrots always seem to so flavorful. Enjoy!

Lovely looking Carrots. Well done. We didn't do Carrots this year.. But we are trying Corn on the cob for first time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36