You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is @papa-pepper planting 1000 trees in 5 gallon buckets?

in #gardening8 years ago

I love this! I'm curious if you have heard of the STUN method: Sheer Total Utter Neglect? I assumed that's what you'd be demonstrating when I read the sheer number of trees. You'll get a higher yield with buckets, for sure. My understanding of STUN is that you over-transplant with the intention to heavily thin. By doing nothing other than thinning, the most vigorous specimen identifies itself. I'm considering trying it but will need to subsoil and we're on compacted clay where planted trees tend to drown in their holes come March. Buckets may just be a way for me to grow more trees than I know what to do with in the meantime. Mwa-ha-ha! Thanks for the inspiration!

Sort:  

Yeah, I think Mr. Shepherd up in Wisconsin might have coined that term. It's a good concept. Plant a bunch, see who makes it, and you've got the strongest plants available for your area. I think he's even growing Pecans up in Wisconsin that way, if I'm not mistaken. Thanks for the encouragement.

Everyone should do what you just don't. This could probably solve half the problem of the world in less than 20 years. This post is so underrated! Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42