You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Year Long, Unforgettable Woofing Adventure On Skipley Farm

in #gardening8 years ago

Watching all their children jumping on the trampoline, playing with kid goats, rabbit bunnies and waddling after the ducks, made me feel rewarded immeasurably for the hard work of the season.

Yes! It really is the life, isn't it? I'm further south in Washington State, in the Vader area South of Centralia. We're just starting up a homestead here, but I've worked on a few different farms. Nothing quite as idyllic as your photos, but I've visited some amazing farms and homesteads with the Lewis County Master Gardeners. I'll definitely follow you for more good mojo!

The feast most indelible in my memory was the first time I had fresh carrots I'd grown myself. I had no idea a carrot could taste so sweet, or be so rich in vibrant flavors. I've never come near that experience, even in farmers market carrots. I bet they were technically identical, but there is something undeniably superior about eating what I've grown myself. It's like a meal cooked with love only deep in the earth and loved for months with special care. This year, I hope to be tasting my own homegrown potatoes for the first time. I hear potatoes are also much better when homegrown. Excited!

Sort:  

In a book called, The Secret Life Of Plants, one of the chapters is about a study done that proves more nutrition is absorbed into the bodies of the people that cared for the plants they were eating. If someone watered a plant, they absorbed more nutrition them guests eating from the same meal, proportional to the amount of time spent caring for them, with the highest absorption rate going to the one who planted the seed. Fascinating. Thanks for sharing your story.
FB_IMG_1473416621747.jpg
Carrots grown this year

Oh I'll have to look that up! I'm thinking of doing a post reviewing a variety of books to connect with nature. It's fascinating that the gardener would absorb more nutrients than the guest. Thank you for building community with your request for stories!

The book is coauthored by Peter Tompkins and Christopher Bird. Also, I updated my post to let Steemians know that the best reply for their favorite food related story will win $10 Steem dollars from me.

Cool! I think it builds community to host contests. I'm a bit nervous because I am expecting peppers in the mail from @papapepper and will be taking his #hotpepperchallenge. I'm nervous because it will be the first time video taping myself publicly. I do believe in being silly, though. :) I hope you get lots of comments and entries!

Cool, I won @pappa-pepper 's tattoo contest and am a judge for his next one. His peppers look delicious. Let me know how hot they are once you taste them.

Nice! I will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97