You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ► Which types of plastic are safe to use in your garden? I decided to find out and let you all know.

in #gardening7 years ago

Really good article! Thanks for the mention :) you've now encouraged me to finish my research.

I'd like to now which sources you used when talking about PP in Canadian research? As far as my research goes, it's PP that is by far the safest and most durable and it was BPA that was found in medical equipments which isn't used in PP.

I'd like to add that which some plastics are labelled microwave safe, this only means they won't melt under extreme temperature and under no circumstances should you microwave or dish-wash plastics.

PVC is also the worst plastic we have ever created as it leaches numerous amounts of chemicals. Some have even been connected to causing and increasing Cancer cells.

PS is also having a huge review as large amounts of styrene's also cause Cancer and multiple health issues. Thankfully parts of Asia have now banned any use other this in any form, I hope the rest of the world will now listen.

Sort:  

Of course, you were the inspiration to get me to post this one up here on Steemit! I looked further into PP and realized exactly what you mentioned...it's pretty much one of the top plastics to use up there with HDPE / LDPE.

I'm with you on the microwaving as well, along with banning or discouraging PS use. There's gotta be more sustainable ways to make packing peanuts, after all :)

P.S. Love your YouTube channel! I subscribed to you over there as well. I'm Epic Gardening.

Kevin

Thanks man! I'll check your channel out soon :)

I am Cornholio! (Whoa! Hm heh... that was cool) I need T.P. for my bunghole! Come out with your pants down!

Praise Cornholio!, I have T.P. I have T.P. for your Bunghole

I am the Great Cornholio! I'm a gringo!

I do not want to feel the wrath of your BUNGhole!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28