The community garden project begins

Greetings, people of Steemit! Welcome to my blog!

Earlier in the year, I decided to rent some space at the local community garden to grow some food this year. I ended up renting 2 plots that are next to each other. The plots are each 14 feet by 20 feet, with a 5 foot space between the plots. The 2 plots that I rented happen to be on the outer edge of the community garden, in the corner, so there's only the fence on 1 side and 1 end of the plots. The plots are in this corner.
DSCN8710.JPG

The second plot had been used last year, but the corner plot apparently had not been used in a couple of years from what I was told. There were corner markers for the plots, the second one had short fence posts to mark the corners.
DSCN8711.JPG

I decided to measure the corner plot and pound in short steel posts to mark the corners so that I would know what I can plant when the time comes. Because of all the grass growing on the corner plot, I decided to roll out some heavy duty black plastic to cover up the grass to try to kill it before garden planting time comes. I can't plant anything here until about the last week of May due to frost considerations, so I have about 3 to 4 weeks to kill the grass. Of course, the roll of plastic is 10 feet by 25 feet, so it didn't cover the entire plot. On the good side, it covered all the grass between the 2 plots.
DSCN8714.JPG

Looking at the plots from outside the fence, after covering the grass with the plastic.
DSCN8715.JPG

This is the edge of the plot that I still need to cover. I'm going to have to buy another roll of the plastic to cover the rest of it up. Maybe the store will have narrow rolls so I don't have such a big overlap, that seems like a bit of a waste.
DSCN8716.JPG

This was as far as I got on the project today. I'll be posting more about the community garden project in the near future, so stay tuned for more!

2000px-Decorative_text_divider_-_central_flare.svg.png

Thank you for reading my post!

I welcome any comments or questions you might have.

text divider.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by preppin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11