Not so Fragrant Roses!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

 So, it`s supposed to be summer here in South Africa, yet it`s been cold, miserable and raining. Look, I’m not complaining about the rain at all, since we have just sort of come out of a drought, while other places in South Africa are still in a very bad state. But the thing is, I love being outside and looking at the most beautiful flowers I have in my garden.  

I love the way my garden makes me feel, it`s my happy place. I’m still new at gardening and have just started this year on my vegetable patch, not really a patch, more like raised beds, but you get the idea, right. I’ll be posting more about my gardening soon and also some lovely photos of my roses and flowers.   

One sad thing, about a month ago, I called up our local nursery asking for some more roses. Although, I was not really certain about what I was looking for, but I knew I wanted something that would smell divine. Apparently, roses are not grown for its scent anymore, rather for the looks! How sad that such a beautiful rose can have no scent, so the advice that I was given, it`s best to find “heirloom roses”. I live in a small community, so it`s hard to just go and find some of these, and most places don’t really give the option for delivery. I’m on the hunt for fragrant roses!

Please let me know what you think or if you have some idea’s!

Sort:  

i love to stop and smell the roses! I understand your desire for some sweet scented petals. The petals in a bath and the rose hips in tea over winter <3. I myself am a beggining gardener. I am doing a veggie family study guide series if you wanna check it out <3 I hope you find your fragrent roses!

Thanks @skyecae! I have found some "old roses" cuttings. I hope you going to take. Super excited.

Nice! Tell us how they turn out! I love flowers so much!

I just nominated you for the Seven Day Black and White Challenge

The Challenge:

7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life.
Present one image every day for 7 days.
No people.
No explanation.
Nominate someone every day. Although anyone can join in.
Use the tag #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five tags.

just thought this might be fun for you-these rose pics in black and white would look awesome for example

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56