Growing Basil By Cutting

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

Basil Cutting 6.jpg
Hi green thumbs,

I am sharing with you a new experiment that I am trying for the first time. It is about growing more basil using a single pot of plant. After the unsuccessful green grapes experiment, I am here once again doing another challenge for myself.

How To Grow Basil By Cutting:

1.) Start with a pot of basil.
Basil Cutting 1.jpg
Our friend was able to grow two or three pots of basil using PET bottles. I am not sure if she started with seeds or stem cuttings or if she bought them as seedlings from the market. She gave us this one big basil plant.
Basil Cutting 2.jpg
Look how green it is now, before we got worried when the leaves turned pale. I then transferred it under a shade away from direct sunlight. I watered it regularly making sure the pot has good drainage as I do not want to soak the basil with too much water. I believe that will cause browning of the stems and eventually the leaves. I am just guessing base on my previous experience.

2.) Cut a few stems that are on top. Make the cute just below a node so when it is submerged in water it will produce more roots. Here I gathered six stems.
Basil Cutting 3.jpg

3.) Remove some of the lower leaves so they won't rot once you submerge them in water. Just leave a few of the leaves on top of your stem cutting
Basil Cutting 5.jpg

4.) Submerge all the cuttings in water and give them enough light to grow
Basil Cutting 4.jpg
I am using recycled bottle containers
Basil Cutting 6.jpg

After 18 days or so, the cuttings would have grown some roots and ready to be potted. I will make another post when the cuttings are ready. See you again.

Gus

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Wow that is so great to hear. Thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83