Sort:  

I'm so happy to know you found this information helpful. It's something I'm very passionate about and it solves so many problems and is easy to do. Thanks for the upvote, I'm loving your content too.

I've got a big patch of Asparagus I plan on putting in, and I hear Sorghum is good one to grow and till in first.
Even keeping the topsoil alone should be enough of a reason for farmers to use cover crops, and it is finally catching on in some areas.

Smother crops like sorgam-sudan, or buckwheat, at least a year in advance of planting will help control weeds. I would be careful about tilling it in though. Tillage can disturb the weed seeds back to the surface causing them to sprout and undo all the work you did suppressing the weeds.
Asparagus loves to be mulched, so once the cover crop has winter killed let the residue remain on the ground as a mulch and add more in the form of manure or straw. That should suppress the weeds and give your crop a kick start. Good luck and post your crop when it comes in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65