papa-peppers Garden Progress Report - THE PLANTS ARE GOING CRAZY AND WE'RE BEING BURIED IN CUCUMBERS AND NOODLE BEANS!!!

in #gardening8 years ago

In my Introduction I shared some pictures and information about my garden, now I'm doing a progress report; THE GARDEN IS IN OVERDRIVE!!


The propagated Passionfruit is growing awesome where I planted some in the actual garden. It looks like it will be flowering soon!


The Kiwanos have totally overtaken their cattle panels!


Everywhere I look underneath is like a Kiwano manufacturing plant! (Yes, a plant, get it?)


Soon, I'll have these neat walk-through tunnels for eating fresh Kiwano! Never thought I'd have some of those.


And we also have our "Wall of Kiwano" coming in thick as well.


Papa-peppers pepper plants are producing too.


Everywhere I look, where a Kiwano isn't growing, I see my hot little friends.


The varieties of flavors, colors, Scoville Heat Units, and shapes have always interested me when it comes to peppers.


Besides the "Super-Hots" like Ghosts, Scorpions, Morugas, and Reapers, this Black Prince has always been a personal favorite.


The cucumbers have been incredibly productive and we've been pickling like crazy. It's nice to be able to save some for winter!


And of course the Chinese Noodle Beans. These guys are still growing like crazy and blessing us daily. I tried pickling these too and it was a hit with the kids, so we've been cranking out jars of these for later too, plus trading with some people.


That's not even mentioning the Ground Cherries, Tomatillos, Swiss Chard, Mustard Greens, Carrots, Green Beans, Squash, Pie Pumpkins, Amaranth, Millet, Tomatoes, Basil, Oregano, Mint, Lemon Balm, Popcorn varieties, and all the other propagated plants that we've been working on.

Thankfully, we are doing very well for our first gardening season in Arkansas and we definitely have some plants that are winners. This is the largest garden that we have ever had, and I'm looking forward to a bigger one next year, and then acres and acres of edible landscape and a food forest.


If you're interested in getting started gardening, or in expanding the types of food you grow, I've still got some free seed giveaways going on. Each link includes a decent description of the plant and how it is doing for us. Simply reply to those posts and let me know you want some seeds, and I'll have you private message me a shipping address. Unfortunately, I'll only ship to the United States, so sorry, rest of the world.


Also, just so you know I'm serious, check out these posts from people who have already received free seeds from me:



proof-of-garden

Sort:  

very nice indeed, overflowing ☺

Impressive garden @papa-pepper!
I see where you got your name from !

There's a little more to the @papa-pepper name story than that, but hopefully I'll get to share it soon. Until then, just keep singing my song!

Nice impressions of your garden @papa-pepper ! I like people who are bounded with nature and I'm dreaming to get a big garden one day myself.
Best wishes and keep your thing going!

I look forward to the day where I have a yard again to grow food. I miss digging in the dirt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63