Gardeners, save your kitchen plumbing!

in #gardening7 years ago

Washing dirt down your kitchen sink is bad mojo!

This garden washing station was assembled with scrap materials I had laying around, and is seeing its second season of daily use.

IMG_0450.jpg

That's a 25 gallon heavy duty tote from Home Depot. I tried using the 75 gallon of the same brand, but the bottom split due to the weight of the water. It would probably be OK with better support, or sitting directly on the ground, but I'd rather not bend over to wash my produce.

The drying rack is some leftover vinyl fence zip tied to a PVC frame.

IMG_0454.jpg

If you picked your veggies on a hot day, let them soak in cold water for 20 or 30 minutes. It really goes a long way to extending the shelf life of the produce!

IMG_0455.jpg

Of course let your produce dry before putting in your refrigerator! It's a bit windy today, so I didn't bother setting up my blower fan to speed up the process.

Sort:  

Could you add a lettuce spinner from a old washing machine? If only the element is blown, it might be perfect.

I've never seen that before. Nice.

Absolutely, and I'm looking into it for next year when I really step up greens production!

This is great, i might have to make a wash station like this next year when my garden has more growing in it. I wish i had more followers to share this with but i just started on Steemit today, my new blog is going to be following my family's journey of learning what we need to know to live off grid and have a small homestead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45