Garden update

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_0461.jpg

What an amazing color for an eggplant! This is the first fruit on my Asian varieties. It should get about a foot long when it's ready to pick.

IMG_0456.jpg

I'm not a huge fan of tomato cages, so I tried weave trellising this year. It's a bit maintenance intensive, but I'm liking the results.

IMG_0457.jpg

Got some weeding done today with my daughter's help. This is half of plot #1 (4 plots total), all nightshades (tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants). Plot #1 is all on soaker hose irrigation. I also have squash, zucchini, and potatoes in this plot. All of these plants do really well on soak/drip irrigation. Keeping the foliage dry keeps mildew, blight, and numerous other problems at bay.

IMG_0458.jpg

Just waiting for a fresh tomato sandwich! I have two 65' rows of basil coming in right now that will pair perfectly with all these tomatoes. Half of my tomatoes this year are an heirloom Amish paste variety. Those are even thicker in production. I'm going to have to finally learn how to make a good tomato sauce and recruit some kitchen help when it comes time to can these.

IMG_0459.jpg

If you grow in containers, don't spend $$ on grow bags and big pots. Spend 50 cents on a reusable shopping bag. The blue wal-mart bags are perfect! They hold enough soil to grow a pretty decent tomato plant. I've neglected to water these properly, but they're still producing along with my other plants that were buried 2' - 3' deep! These bags are in their second season of use, and I think I can get another year or two out of them.

Sort:  

Wow...what a great idea to use reusable bags. I have so many. That is great. Send me some tomatoes. They are my favorite. I don't have as much space as you do, but it looks good. Keep it up

I'll give you tomatoes if you promise to take about 40 lbs of squash and zucchini! I don't know why I grow so many of them every year. I'm this close to leaving them on my neighbors' doorsteps in the middle of the night like some kind of squash fairy.

I would love me some of that. Whoa. I would make some reaaaaaaaaaaallly good meals outta that. Send them over . whoaaaaaaaaaaaa

Who doesn't love a good Squash Fairy?
Lovely garden!

lol, thank you friend! Wish you were here to share our bounty. Finally a success with carrots this time around! Bought pelleted seeds from Johnny's this year, and with my seeder got great germination. We're absolutely giddy with anticipation of fresh carrots. Going to make some epic stews when Autumn gets here.

Congratulations @pacific-farmer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41