Today's Tomato Harvest - Different Varieties

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

28ed8152-1b79-40ff-8071-c9ebdf01ef7f.jpeg


Since I only had one tomato variety in the garden last year, I decided to experiment a little with more varieties.
Today's harvest included basic tomatoes (I don't know which variety it is), cherry tomatoes, Chocolate Pear tomatoes and the very delicious garden peach tomato.

More will come soon!



E795CF9C-F4DB-4098-BB26-BA54097694E0.jpeg

E14AD266-5856-47BC-B9E2-08A6E4FF413B.gif



DQmbEpn4KHehmWABuyFN6e7BMaiDYCGjvd4q4YJKHGMaytK.jpe

Schoolof minnows post

If this post is older than 7 days, please support
by upvoting my latest post upvotelatest post view latest post

DQmYTKa4yjhyUYaWxsBaeTpZRG6NiY4Ftdd6Y4DXL556C7u.jpe



Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb



Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

That's a great harvest! I've never tasted a Chocolate Pear tomato before, or even heard about it for that matter. What's it like?

Like a tomato, lol. K don't know how to describe the taste; maybe a little 'darker' than a regular one...

You got a 18.17% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @organicgardener!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 100.00%. Estimated dollar amount of $2.47

You got a 6.62% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @organicgardener!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Some of the shapes are really new to me ,kimda strange

I am jealous those look very yummy right now.

Much love @organicgardener :)

Found you thanks to a resteem by @simplymike. As a homesteader but herb (not veggie) gardener I look forward to your upcoming posts @organicgardener!

Lol, @buckaroo, it is me, @simplymike :0)
I opened this second account, because I didn't want to clutter my main blog with Steepshot posts :0)

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Great disguise. I STILL look forward to your posts. Both sets of them

Good looking tomatoes, though it is not tomato season

Posted using Partiko Android

I've not had chocolate pears or the garden peach. Do they taste like their name somehow? I know they have some coloring that resembles each thing, but that would be amazing if the they were like a hybrid or something (not sure how the chocolate gets in there but I like it. Nice post under your pseudonym, @simplymike. :)

Unfortunately, no chocolate taste on the chocolate pears, lol. They both taste like tomatoes, but still a little different. The garden peach tomatoes don't taste like peaches either, but you kinda get that feeling, because of the skin that is a little peach-like, snd that they are very 'meaty'. They are among the best tomatoes I ever tasted :0)

Okay, no hybrids, just coloring likenesses, but both really tasty. It's funny that my family growing up grew rows and rows of tomatoes, and since I've been married and we've had garden space, we've been growing tomatoes, and yet, I have no idea about the names of various kinds of tomatoes, just their types. I know we have cherry, roma and some kind of beef or larger tomatoes out there. That's about it. :)

Last year I had 6 plants with the same kind of tomatoes. I didn't even realize there were so many kinds of different varieties. And since I'm all into experimenting, I order some seeds from those varieties that looked good.
Today we tasted our first banana leg tomato. We ate it straight from the plant, which meant it was actually too warm to get a good idea of the taste.
I'm still waiting for the Indigo Rose tomatoes to ripe - they will be black once they do (black tomatoes, that should be a treat), and somemore varieties that are slowly turning orange as we speak.
This year we'll have a real tomato-degustation coming up :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86