IS IT DEAD???

in #gardening7 years ago

Although we live on a farm, I am not an avid gardener at this point. I am learning, but have a long way to go.

Over a month ago, 5 trees were delivered. They were all shipped bare root and dormant.

While the Elderberry and the Peach tree are doing wonderful, the cherry trees and the pear tree have yet to show life. I am guessing that they did not survive, but don't want to yank them out of the ground without knowing for sure.

So, please tell me if I should give them more time or are they definitely dead.

I appreciate your help!

Thank you in advance!
Sincerely-
Oily's Humble Home AKA The Oily Prepper

Sort:  

I usually try to see if one of the smaller twigs will snap easily or just bend. If it bends, give the trees a chance. If it snaps, it most likely didn't make it. I am crossing my fingers they are ok!

I will try that tomorrow. The cherry trees have branched out twigs on them so I will see. The pear doesn't. I tried scratching the bark with my nails to see if any of them were green underneath but couldn't tell. I don't think they were. I will try the cherry trees tomorrow and see what happens. Thanks for the suggestion!

No problem, I wish I could be of more help!

I just appreciate you trying! Means a lot!

No need to thank me, anything to help a friend 🌷

It could take some time. I would wait and see. It could be transplant shock coupled with dormancy.

How long do you suggest? They have been in the ground for 4-5 weeks. Like maybe another month or so? I have been sure to put the soaker hose on them to allow the water to get all the way to the roots.

Another month sounds good. I'd hate for them to be dead, but I'd also hate for them to be dug up and still alive.

Ok I will do that then. No harm in them staying where they are. It is too hot to plant replacements at this point, so if they don't live, I will try again in the fall. Thanks so much for your input!

We just planted fruit trees this past winter, and it took quite a while for them to start showing signs of life. They started leafing out well after everything was already green. I agree with trying the "bend" test, if the tree is still alive it will have some spring to it. Make sure you're giving lots of water and you should be fine! Most nurseries will also have some sort of warranty. Ours will give us a new tree within the first year if it dies.

I wish I could help. But from what I read a cherry tree can take 3-5 years from a seed to produce. I wish I could help more. I'm sorry. 😕

Thanks for trying! I appreciate it! I hope you are well today!

I am well. And the same to you. Other than the tree predicament of course. Lol.

Good to hear it! Lol! Well it is what it is. Some things I am great at and other things I am not so great at! Haha! We have very sandy soil here and no topsoil so I am not used to gardening in this soil. I had fabulous gardens at previous locations, but it is a struggle here. Seemed like no effort at the other places, but this is a whole other planet it feels like. Lol!

Well I'm sorry to hear that. I wish you the best of luck!😀

Thank you! I need all the luck and prayers I can get! Haha!

But I also saw that the best time to plant them is towards the end of the winter. I can't say that I am a green thumb myself though. Lol. Once again. I'm sorry I can't help very much.

Well at least you tried! I appreciate it!

Maybe some day I will be able to produce some crop. When I leave the desert that is. Lol. But no problem. I like to at least give it a shot. 😀

Is there a reason you HAVE to dig them up right now? I'd leave them until next year at least.
In the future, pictures are always helpful.
I'm pretty sure my peach died also, but maybe the trunk is still okay so I will leave it until next year to find out for sure.

No. I can leave it. I was just feeling a bit foolish watering trees I am pretty sure are dead...but I will leave them. 😂😂😂 Wishing you the best of luck on your peach tree!

I hope they all make an unexpected comeback for next year!! :( haha

I have been telling them to live in Jesus name. Maybe a Lazarus raising from the dead miracle will happen. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87