My Dream to start an organic farm where all kids eat for free

in #gardening7 years ago

Hello everyone, well lets see its hard to know where to begin.... I guess this first article could be a primer followed by future weakly updates or daily updates and photos if people want them....

THE FARM: Currently i have 2.2 acres that I live on in southern Vermont. I started planting things as a form of therapy after my older brother died. I was about 24 years old when I started and knew nothing about gardening. The first thing I planted was 1,000 tulips and many daffodils... I was hooked.. Since then I have planted about 200 high bush blueberries, 50 asian pear trees, red raspberries, purple raspberries, yellow raspberries, dwarf apple trees etc.....

THE DREAM: Gardening has been a rewarding experience for me. I am still mind blown by witnessing the massive abundance produced by such a small input.. ie. I plant one single Sunflower seed and get 1,000 back in return. Nowhere in mans world can i witness such a system ... Its like winning the lotto every time I plant a seed..

I am the proud father of a four year old daughter... I love seeing her learn how to grow and enjoy plants right here beside me. To see her joy as she picks and eats a fresh Strawberry is so soothing to my soul... So with so much abundance already and being a believer in happiness is best when shared. It makes sense to me to embrace it and copy the Sunflower in its ability to give....

THE PLAN: To take this small organic farm to the next level, to plant every inch of this 2.2 acres in southern Vermont with edibles.. To see how much and of what can be produced here in a zone 4. To build a roadside stand were children can eat freely in the harvest. To have the rest on a donation basis so all can enjoy, regardless of income.... Speaking of income, I have a relatively low income from being self employed as a carpenter and I have a small cottage in another town I rent for income.. However my current goal in life is not to own a Maserati or have a mansion... My goal for now is simply to have health and happiness for myself and those around me...
rainbow VT.jpg

Sort:  

as soon as I win the lottery...

Thanks for the comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45