Yellow grasshopper in my corn plant!steemCreated with Sketch.

Good morning, evening, afternoon wherever you happen to be!

Just a quick post here with a shot from my garden this morning.

Sorry my cel phone doesn't take the greatest pics but I wanted to capture this yellow critter.

I have seen lime green, brown, even orange grasshoppers but this is the first time I've even seen a yellow one.

Here he is chomping on a black turtle bean leaf than is growing along with my corn:

yellowgrasshopper.jpg

If anyone knows the name of this type of grasshopper, please comment. I'm getting ready to go to work and don't have time to look it up.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

It's called an Eastern Lubber Grasshopper... They contain a toxin that may make you sick, so don't touch them. They usually have a black stripe that doesn't appear until they mature.

If you don't like insects on your corn (or other vegetation) I use tobacco juice. I mix a pouch of Red Man in a gallon of water and allow to sit overnight. It makes a concentrate that you can mix (about 1/3 juice-2/3 water) and spray on your plants. For some reason insects hate tobacco and this makes a great non-chemical insecticide.

Wow! Thanks so much for the info. I've only got one of these critters and I remove him from the plants. I just kind flick him away, I'll be more careful now. I'm not using any insecticides natural or otherwise so that the bees and ladybugs can do their thing.

For some reason, the tobacco doesn't seem to deter the bees. ladybugs seemed to like it better in the house for some reason lol!

Again hide from predators :)

Congratulations @oasis-in-arizona! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @oasis-in-arizona! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97