Growing Wild Roses in my Garden: Only One Flower Blooms!

in #gardening8 years ago

My obsession with local indigenous plants led me to grow a wild variety of rose, which is considered an invasive species around here. It grows wild in the landscape here and gets really big if left unattended, and can grow over six foot tall.

I had dug up a small plant in spring this year from one of the forests around here, and re-planted it in my garden. I did not intervene in anyway and let nature take its course. The plant itself grew huge with a very thorny stem, and while it did show some buds developing, it had never flowered properly till now.

Since yesterday, one of the buds bloomed, and the flower is a deep red and looks healthy. Enjoy the pictures.


All photos have been touched-up using GIMP, scaled in size and taken with my
mobile camera, Samsung Galaxy S6 edge



A close up of the flower



A shot of the whole plant, which has gotten big!



A view of the thorny stem. Notice the large size of the thorns



Another close up of the lone flower



You can right-click and open image in a new tab for a larger format.
All photos are free to use without attribution or copyrights.
(Though you may give me credit, if you wish!)



If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me. Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

Beautiful roses congratulations great photographs

Thank you!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Now that is what I call True Red

Yes it is the red of nature! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50