Growing Wild Orchids in my Garden.

in #gardening8 years ago

I have tried to grow some wild orchids in my garden. The Orchid family or "Orchidaceae" is one of the largest groups of flowering plants having around 28,000 different species.

My state has around 500 species out of that and I got a plant, a Dendobrium genera, from the forest about five years ago, while on a trek. I scoured around as to a good way to grow it at home, but I was not satisfied with what I found as they all were dependent on heavy human intervention, and I needed a natural way.

Now the plant I had was an epiphyte which has been defined by Wikipedia as:

An epiphyte is a plant that grows harmlessly upon another plant (such as a tree) and derives its moisture and nutrients from the air, rain, and sometimes from debris accumulating around it.

I had an old mulberry tree die out around that time, and the trunk was still in the soil. So I decided to put the orchid on this stub and tried to make it as nature would have. It has been five years now and the plant is healthy, has trebled in size, but has never bloomed despite all my efforts.

Took some pics yesterday of the orchid growing on my dead mulberry tree stump!


All photos have been touched-up, scaled in size and taken with my mobile camera,
Samsung Galaxy S6 edge



The Orchid plant among my trees



A closer view of the plant. Notice the aerial roots, which can be quite long



The plant on the gnarly, and dead, tree stump



You can right-click and open image in a new tab for a larger format.
All photos are free to use without attribution or copyrights.
(Though you may give me credit, if you wish!)



If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me.
Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

awesome! it's the perfect place to put it up with. my mom just attached her orchids to any tree trunk she can reach although she have used some driftwood my brother got for her after one big storm near our place.

Seems to work for me, but the fact it has never bloomed in the last five years is what bothers me.

dont lose hope, it might just surprise you.my mom had one with no flowers for a few years then it bloomed.

That is comforting to know, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75