Surprise buds

in #gardening5 years ago

clivia buds.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised to see the Bush Lily, Clivia miniata, making a flower stalk, I'd given up on it because it is a plant that grows in forests, under the trees in its natural environment and my garden is so hot, sunny and dry. It was an odd survivor that emerged from the naked soil in the wasteland that I found when I moved into my house 3 years ago. I moved it to a cooler spot although I didn't even know what it was at that stage. Clivia can take up to 5 years to mature sufficiently to bloom and many indigenous bulbs will sulk for a couple of years if you move them so I didn't expect it to ever do anything.

I photographed these in my mother's garden, where they flourish under the trees. I doubt mine will look this good but it feels like a small victory anyway.

clivia.jpg

Clivia are indigenous to my country and are used medicinally, even though they are extremely toxic. They contain lycorine, the same alkaloid found in daffodils, which are known to be poisonous. Lycorine causes extreme vomiting and nausea and can cause abortion. It's also used to sprinkle around the house as a protective charm. I think I will just admire the flowers, though

Sort:  

Super flowering!
I had Clivia, bloomed beautifully for several years.
I really liked her flowering.
It grew, and she had many baby plants.
I shared it, much to my regret, since after that her condition began to worsen.
As a result, she died ....
It’s a pity that her baby plants didn’t survive with my friend either ..

That's a pity. They don't tolerate too much disturbance and we usually propagate them from seed

When it blooms suprisingly beautiful in orange!

They are spectacular.:-)

This means you have magical fingers!

Not so magical. It's a matter of knowing a plant's needs and trying to fulfill them

Oh! They are pretty!

Because not pink, right?

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thank you!

If I see him in the store, I’ll buy one more.

Good luck! Remember that they prefer to grow in shade and like water in summer but not winter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79