October garden update

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

kale.jpg
Kale has already been picked a couple of times and that's Tom photobombing

It has been extremely hot and dry this spring but I sowed seeds anyway, I just have to make sure that I water the garden daily and so far, the results have been encouraging: I have eelworm in the soil which is poor and sandy. These nematodes are most active when temperatures are above 28 degrees Celsius and the tell-tale signs of the root damage they cause is plants that wilt easily and don't thrive but so far, the seedlings are doing well even though the temperatures have been in the 30s for weeks.

courgette.jpg
Last time I grew zucchini, they always wilted at midday but so far, these are doing well.

Beans and sweetcorn. Those are runner beans and they are growing too fast for the sweetcorn so I will probably need to make something for those tendrils to find
beans.jpg

Im considering the improvement in the soil to be a direct result of the heavy composting and mulching of I did. I read that fungi in the soil control nematodes so I got to work using the composted remnants of the Ombu tree that I cut down in January. As a member of the Pokeweed family, it is more of a giant weed than a true woody tree so it composted really quickly. The massive roots also rotted, leaving big holes in the ground

arnold.jpg

I planted so many beans this year for 3 reasons:

  1. The soil is really poor and it will take a few years to build up nutrients but beans are nitrogen-fixers so they will tolerate such poor soil as a pioneer crop
  2. The soil is also infested with beetle grubs, which like to bite plant roots and I read that they dislike legume root systems so hopefully the heavy bean cropping will reduce the numbers.
  3. I love green beans

The spinach already bolted in the heat so I will make sure not to sow it as a spring crop again, only in winter. I think I only got 2 harvests from it

spinach.jpg

My indestructible iceberg roses got over their hard pruning and are blooming madly and finally starting to become bushes instead of weird spindly neglect survivors

roses.jpg

Finally, some of the things I found while sieving the vegetable soil

penny.jpg
A 102-year-old English Penny, from the days when this was an English colony and later, part of the commonwealth

finds.jpg
Odds and ends that find their way into the soil. There was also an assortment of rusty objects and bullet shells, mainly .22 and various other coins and old glass bottles, mainly medicine bottles and all sorts of broken pieces

Posted as part of @simplymikes October garden challenge

Sort:  

The earth is rewarding you with vegetables and a penny dividend :-)

Amazing how the old coins have lasted in the soil but our current money is just plated and rusts in no time

Copper, silver and gold of old :-)

That looks very promising, @nikv.
I had no idea about fungi having an influence on nematodes. Another thing learned today :0)

Cool that gardening is a bit like treasure hunting.

Thanks for joining!

Thank you! I'm glad that there are natural ways to reduce the problem because my vegetable-growing has mostly been a failure up to now thanks to all the stones and nematodes

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

It’s unusual to read that spring begins in October. We have already by this time a deep autumn.
Everything has already been removed from the field.
I wish you success in spring field work.

Thank you

3 extremely good reasons to grow beans!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow!!! What finds!! Where do you live? Good info about the beans. Going to plant more for that reason. AND frantically making big compost heaps.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm in South Africa. Do you also have eelworm?

I like what you do. I wanted to grow myself when I lived in Mérida, and I actually did it, but now I'm in the overwhelming Caracas City and coming back seems to be pretty hard... Anyway, is good to know about your own experience and learning so when I do it again I'll do it better hahaha.

I hope you get a chance

Hey @nikv! We've manually upvoted your post with both accounts, @build-it.assist and @build-it.curator.

As a matter of interest, there's a tribe on the steem platform known as Build-it that accommodates all DIY, How-to tutorials, and life-hacks respectively.

Your DIY/how-to tutorials get rewarded with the tribe's token known as BUILD upon posting via our website or by using one of the recommended tags; #diy, #how-to, #build-it, #build, and #doityourself. Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote

Thank you!

Hi! Apologies for popping onto your comments but have called out to most people on a post with very little feedback. I have just launched the new @steemsouthafrica account and discord server and would be thrilled to have you join us! We are trying to build up some SA STEEM momentum again – organising regular meet-ups etc. If you are interested, you can hop onto the new server HERE – hope to see you there soon! Oh, and you are welcome to start making use of the #steemsa tag on your posts so that we can support them with an upvote and resteem!
JOIN US ON TWITTER

STEEMSA logo.png

Very special garden! Your gardener is a cat in disguise!
Antique coin! 1917, during WW1!
Lots of history there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44