Hard-pruning the roses again

in #gardening5 years ago

rose1.jpg

Last year, I cut my roses down severely and they didn't seem to mind at all and have flowered profusely, making many new stems, which is a step in the right direction. The problem came in with the strange weather we had, it didn't rain at all until well into summer and then rained non-stop for about six weeks. So, the sunlight was poor and water was plentiful and there was a massive growth-spurt on the roses, and on my neighbour's tree, which blocked the available light as well so I trimmed the tree but was once again left with long, spindly roses.

roses.jpg
Blooming madly six months ago

I have been so busy with other tasks that I didn't have time for pruning although it could have been done a month ago but I haven't watered them much so the buds were all still dormant.

rose2.jpg

The correct way to prune is to leave a space above the selected bud and also to look for buds that face outward so that they will not grow into the centre of the bush. If you look at the first picture, I now have a good shape and spread of branches although the side view doesn't show it well. There are also good young branches that have formed since last pruning. The air is still very dry and it won't rain for a while yet, so I don't bother with sealant on my cuts.

Now it's time to start watering and feeding my roses and make sure that the neighbour's tree doesn't get too out of hand

Sort:  

I always feel sorry for cutting branches... :-)

So do I but I cut them before they are growing strongly and they really don't seem to mind

They agree with fate... :-)

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very beautiful roses. It turns out tree pruning is a whole art. You need to know a lot and be able to.

It isn't that difficult to learn

I miss my roses.... stupid landscaping guy that killed my roses! :(

That sucks! What did the fool do?

He cut the hole thing and then took it out! Not a single root was left! He literally took the whole thing out and then look at me and said "oops"... 😒

You should have made him replace them

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thank you!

Congratulations, super bloom!
I do not have much experience growing roses.
But I'm trying :-))

This is my first time and these are easy roses but I am finding that they they are not very difficult with enough sun and water

Thank you very much!

I know this sounds bad, I tried to kill my roses. I have 2 that are pretty severely diseased and I haven't found anything to cure it. A friend suggested I trim them all the way back to just the base 'that will get rid of the disease' I didn't follow the thinking, but ok. I trimmed the 4 bushes all the way down and thought it would be better to have them die off at that point. I have milkweed and pokeweed vine growing profusely with them so I treated the area with vinegar. I hoped what was there would die off allow me the opportunity to clean up the bed. I had even taking trimings off of the health bushes to return them once things were cleaned up. Turns out when you add something acidic to alkaline soil, it doesn't kill it. I still have 2 diseased bushes, 2 rapidly growing over producing bushes, milkweed, pokeweed vine and grape hyacinth

Hmm, roses love acidic soil and that may be part of the problem. I'd remove the weeds by hand and look at improving the soil and general growing conditions to see if they cure themselves. What does the disease look like?

The leaves are half yellowed and curled. The buds look like their rotten until it blooms.
I had looked it up, but don't remember right now what it was called.

I figured that part out when they did better overall. I keep weeding, I can't seem to get the milkweed to stop. It is a freaking hydra. If you pull one part 3 or 4 more sprouts pop up. Then I read if you just break the stock and let them die that way it should resolve the issue. That didn't work. Part of me doesn't want to get rid of them due to the butterflies, but I have yet seen bee nor butterfly attracted to these.

Often, it's not enough to just break the stock, dig around in the soil until you have found and removed it all.
I throw all my used tea leaves and coffee grinds at the base of the rose bushes but a rose fertiliser and epsom salts may help too. Do they have good drainage and are they getting enough sunlight?

Wonderful amount of sunlight, they are on the eastern side of the house and the sun doesn't go behind the house until about 2pm. I think that is part of the reason they are still doing as well as they are. I am unsure about drainage since they were here when we bought the house. I have not seen any sitting water even after a very heavy rain, so I am inclined to think there is. I will have to start saving my tea and coffee grounds.

Then I guess I'll have to go rooting. I will definitely wait until it's not 100+ outside :( Thank you so much for the advice @nikv

Roses take a bit of thought and work.. but the beauty they produce makes it worth while.

Not that much with the bomb-proof roses that I have

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81