You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heirloom Seeds Part 1: The Importance of Seed Saving & How to Select The Best Seeds

in #gardening7 years ago

A disservice? No, not at all! But the more I look into seeds, the more complicated it seems to get. I really do think that unless you personally know the seed grower (or somebody honest who does), the chances are that something unnatural has been done to the seeds at some point. And, considering how deeply many people feel about their food and seeds (thank goodness, too!), it seems a shame that so many of them are in a way being fooled... I really envy you in Canada and my friends in France where it is still possible to get pure seed, but I think the situation here in Japan is unfortunately probably more typical. Anyway, you don't need to go into the details: maybe just pointing out that if there is a number at the end of a seed variety's name, it's probably not for serious growers. Either way, you're doing a great job and I look forward to the next installments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62