You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have you ever grown an apple tree from a seed?

in #gardening7 years ago

I bought a few apple seeds online here in Japan. They're from European varieties which I haven't been able to find elsewhere and which I really can't see myself bringing back from Europe on my next trip. I'm pretty sceptical about them actually producing fruit which corresponds to the parent varieties but I reckon that at least I'll have some sturdy grafting stock. Do you have any experience with grating apples?

Sort:  

That's pretty cool. I hope they end up being what you were hoping for! I suppose accidentally bringing a few cuttings in your luggage is the other option. I have no experience with grafting. I've read up on it a fair bit, it looks quite simple. We plan to do it this spring if time permits.

I did think about misplacing some cuttings in my bags but the only time I go back to Europe is in the middle of winter when it's freezing back home and even more so here, so no hope of either finding a cutting or getting it to survive when brought back to Japan. Still, if I could find a way to keep some cuttings going through the cold, it might be worth trying...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85