You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The cherries are ON!!!! Food forest tour VLOG 9

in #gardening6 years ago

Damn this is inspiring! I live in Taos, NM..and we got lucky this year with NO late frost, which is rare around here. So looking forward to seeing what all kinds of fruits we are going to get around the property I'm stewarding (I'm a small scale farmer). I noticed you mentioned you have a 1000 gallon fish tank in your greenhouse. I also have about 1200 gallons of water I want to add a few fish to. Right now I'm just aerating the tanks and using one for worm / equisetum tea. What kind of fish do you think would be simple to get started with? Thanks for the good read...

Sort:  

hi @nickhans!!!! thanks for taking the time....to leave such a deliberate comment my friend!!! your spot sounds amazing!!!!! as far as fish....i've found that simple gold fish work very well. they can take the temperature fluxes....better than most. these particular gold fish have been in this pond....for over ten years now. no filter..and no aeration...other than my hand scooping water out. the same colony of fish is STILL IN THERE LOL!!!! i don't feed the pond either. they eat algae..and insects.

i do about a 15 percent water change....weekly....because i'm constantly using the water to feed my trees...and then top off the tank with tap water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39