Garden Journal - July

in #gardening5 years ago

PSX_20190723_204851.jpg

Summer is in its peak, so is my garden. It is time for the July Garden Journal - the challenge created by @simplymike. Check it out - SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - July (With Steem-Bounty)
and come and join if you would like to show what you grow in your garden, balcony, indoor, farm or allotment .

It turns like a ritual when I open my eyes to go outside and look at the plants how they are doing. When I am back home from work again to go on the balcony for another inspection.

Let me show you around.

20190716_063410.jpg

Amaranth in front with its dark red flowers, started from seeds. Behind the marigold and alyssum, both plants bought from the market. First alyssum was between the strawberries in one pot, but later replanted. Strawberries were moved in two individual pots and alyssum between the marigold. I must say i did not expect to see the alyssum becoming so big and now during the day the pot is on the railingallowing the flower to cascade.

Below is the comparison of what it looked like when I bought it and now.

PSX_20190723_080359.jpg

I mentioned strawberries and here they are.

20190723_062741.jpg

This is the pink blossom and another is red blossom.

20190723_062801.jpg

20190723_064009.jpg

I also have third pot with strawberries with the usual white blossom.

20190703_182506.jpg

They all are small, but keep on growing.

20190703_182644.jpg

The other plant that starts giving fruit is the tomato. We have already picked few for the salad. Last year we had no luck as something killed it instantly after it was covered with the first blossoms. This year we bought seedlings and they become healty plants.

20190713_093429.jpg

And what makes me even happier is the lemon tree. Last month few blossoms apperead for very short time. One lemon afterwards starts growing. What a delight to see it blooming again and hopefully we will have more lemons.

20190723_063025.jpg

Nothing better than to have fresh herbs. Rosemary and sage giving nice flavours in the meaks.

20190723_062724.jpg

20190723_063204.jpg

We used almost all of the mint. In hot days minty and lemony drink is so refreshing.

20190721_080632.jpg

The emoji bowl, never used as it cracked when I first washed it, serves well as flower pot. I started from seeds livingstone daisy. And here is the second pot with the same flower. I very much hope with the next journal to have daisies to show.

20190723_062948.jpg

Behind the what--to-be livingstone daisy is verbena.

At night the pots are put on the ground and during the day some are hanging on the railing.
This is a photo I took this morning. Still on the ground. Later they will be moved and depending on the weather they will be placed on the best spots.

20190723_063116.jpg

I hope you enjoyed seeing my balcony garden. There will be more updates on how the plants are doing. Stay tuned.

1563905554025.jpg

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Sort:  

Yes......I really enjoyed admiring your balcony garden @nelinoeva You and your cat make an excellent team. 😊 (U & R )

Thank you Trudee. ❤
Of course the cat is always there to give a hand, a paw. LOL

Congratulations @nelinoeva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Awesome! Thanks for joining the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge

So many beautiful flowers... and those tomatoes and strawberries look yummy.

I can't wait until it has cooled down a little so I can go out and check on my own tomato plants... all tomatoes are still green, though. I will have to be a little more patient.

Thank you :-)
This year the plants are doing very well. So happy to see the balcony turning green.

I really love that dark color Amaranth has. My stuff is mostly just green. I never had much luck with seeds so I just buy things already started.

I hope those strawberries are sweet and get nice and big! Have a great rest of the growing season.

Thank very much for viewing and commenting. :-)
I have been lucky with some of the seeds, but I failed with many too. The strawberries still are small and not so sweet. But I love their blossoms and that's why I bought them in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40