Adding Compost to Plants: Dos and Don'ts

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)


Do you put compost on top or underneath mulch? The answer is very important to keeping your soil healthy and fertile!
I talk about adding compost to plants, how to spread and water it in, and what to do about mulch. Also, I will talk about my journey to make my own compost and soil mix.

Try Azomite Rock Dust, a natural fastest acting broad spectrum micronutrient. A little goes a long way! I still have half my 50LB bag after using it for a year and a half on my growing scale - http://amzn.to/2DyeboM

Sort:  

Awesome video! Its funny how your chickens run wild in the yard and never fly away. I had to build a huge cage for mine, they are smaller lighter birds. Enjoyed every minute of it. So you clean the soil from the coop and mix it with other things every few months?

Thanks! I have 2 runs for them. The inner cage where the coop is and then a smaller outer run fenced with deer netting. For me it works because I have no predators and for some reason they rarely jump over! Yes I use a deep mulch method. Every 3 months I create new soil. I mix the deep mulch and manure with green waste/bokashi and make compost piles. So glad you enjoyed the video!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69093.99
ETH 3768.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44