Planting, sprouts, and an experiment!

in #gardening6 years ago

I took the day off yesterday to get things done at the house. It's finally after the last frost date here in North Texas, and that means we can finish planting!

IMG_20180427_175649030.jpg

We started with tomatoes, planting them in the 10 foot rows. We planted two rows of red delicious. The kids had a blast, including the baby who probably destroyed a bunch of our work. Punk.

IMG_20180427_180004508.jpg

Next came Sop's red mercury peppers. We got one row of them. I let the kids each help plant the seeds they chose. I think it helped increase participation.

IMG_20180427_184649230.jpg

Then we planted seventeen mounds of cucumbers. Melissa picked them out, but she's allergic to dirt and general outside things, so we planted them all for her. And the baby knocked over and stomped a bunch. Sheesh, kid. How to teach a baby not to ruin everything? Sorry @brockolopolis and @elfmyselfandi, that's what the future holds for you. A little destructor. If you're not already attached, sell her now while you can. (Kidding of course. They're the best.)

Then I had an idea... All these oak trees are shedding their pollen thingies. I think they're called pollyps? That's what I called them growing up. Whatever they are, they're composting really quickly. "Kids, I have an idea... We're gonna try something."

IMG_20180427_185027440.jpg

One of our neighbors, by way of wind, gifted us this box in our yard one day. I've just had it in the pile of decomposable yard trash, and decided we'd try to use it as a garden bed. We filled it about half way with the pollen thingies. There were some sticks and leaves in there too. Then we put some of our awesome soil on top and five squash seeds. Or was it ten? (Anyone know how closely I should be following the plant spacing recommendations on these seeds? Lol)

IMG_20180427_190351029.jpg

IMG_20180427_190908046.jpg

After that, we had more squash seeds and no more beds. So we made a few rows in the dirt on the other side of the yard. Just a little inch deep and wide scour in the ground big enough for seeds. Three rows, about four feet long. And we decided to test out some polyps on top, cause there seems to be lots of stuff growing out of them around the yard. I figured it'd be a good little test.

IMG_20180427_191314244.jpg

Our carrots have started sprouting! I was starting to wonder if they'd ever come up, and here they are! Almost overnight there's cute little shoots that look like grass in little rows.

It felt good getting so much done! I'm hoping they do well so we can have plenty to share and maybe enough to save some of the seeds. We'll see :)

I'm gonna go hang a tire swing!

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

Hello @nateonsteemit,

Great post and awesome family my friend!

Wanted to let you know that you been picked up for my weekly curation digest on the topic of sustainability.

Your post will be Upvoted and REsteemed by @msp-curation bot on behalf of MSP.

Thanks for writing great content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #6 🍒 🦋🌴 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

Woah, that's awesome, thanks a lot! I'll go check it out now :) thanks for the support!

You are more than welcome my friend!

keep up with the great content :)

AH man, so cool to see some more big progress! Haha I know what you look like now! I feel like I know ya, but I really had just the legend to go along with the name, now there's a face too. Legit!
I think i'm in for quite the surprise come minielf being here. Still, cannot wait for her to be here on the outside!
Have you grown squash before? Last year we had a fantastic harvest and I had little clue what to do with the varieties we got, so I had to learn in a hurry. This year we have a million plus two of them planted. Acorn, Butternut and spaghetti. I'll be interested to see how your box works! I really dig those tree cuts you've got bracing it. Were they there when you got your home?

Oh yeah, there's a couple of chopped wood piles here. I'm gonna need a fire pit :)

I do not know about squash much. This is just regular yellow squash lol

You just planted 0.44 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nateonsteemit

We have planted already 7325.16 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20143.10
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35