You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to Grow In Winter Series, Post #9 Witch Hazel

in #gardening7 years ago

Hi @aedroberts, thanks for the comment. I'm a big fan of Helleborus, from what I've seen about it. I haven't yet grown the Helleborus but I've been reading up on them. I love that they are shade plants bc I have a lot of shaded areas at home. In fact, part of the reason for doing this series was to help me make a plan for my own winter garden :)

Sort:  

@nataliejohnson, the is also the male Skimmia Japonica Rubella. Plants like Corylus avellana 'Contorta' and Hydrangea quercifolia 'Snow Queen' have intense winter interest. The Hydrangeas, even though they make a good specimen plant, are best massed; allowing sufficient space to reach full potential. I have had Camellias bloom in February but they were well protected from winter winds (as all broad-leaf evergreens should be). BTW, Erica is heath. Heather are spring and summer flowering.

I just saw your comment, @aedroberts. Sometimes I miss them somehow. You sound like you have so much gardening experience, hopefully, in time I will too - I'm pretty new at gardening :) Corylus avellana 'Contorta' reminds me of the corkscrew willow, and I see what you mean about the Hydrangea quercifolia 'Snow Queen'. The peeling bark is interesting to look at.

go-native-oakleaf-hydrangeas-4.jpg
TodaysHomeowner

Where I live, in zone 8, we are very fortunate to have mild winters (most of the time). Right now we have the most beautiful camellias blooming all around this area, and I am just in awe of them. We did have a few freezes about a month ago but we are back in the spring-time weather.

Thanks for sharing this 🌞 🌞 🌞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49