Sort:  

Actually, waitaminute. Twelve feet in a season?!

Think they'd trellis well up a mature oak tree? Naturally being forest-edge plants, I was thinking of putting two out front and one in our food forest. Perhaps I should wait to order til I can get up a few cattle panels.

Yeah, they’re vigorous! That said a common training method is tipping them at 5.5 feet (common wire height) to encourage lateral growth. As for the oak tree, they will need to be tied every year and cut back after fruiting. If you tipped them, it could work out neatly against the tree. While they do occur in forest edge, full sun will ensure best yield.

Cattle panels are easy if you have raised beds or something to wedge them against, and go up in a hurry. We had a post and rock herb spiral to use.

I spent a while running an 80 foot length of 4 wire trellis today and it certainly looks orderly... not one for too many straight lines, but this is one exception.

Cheers :)

Five an a half feet is a pretty good height. I was picking okra seven feet up this year lol

What's a good partner to put in a guild with blackberries?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe love okra! I like clover and comfrey with it. We mulch the bases really well and put clover in the paths with a comfrey put here or there :) also had some echinacea near one. It grows well with others but if it grows in a thicket style, will eventually shade out its comrades 👍🏼

What is it about okra? It's so fun!

Mulch, clover and comfrey, got it! I need to up my clover and comfrey game. I got like 32 cuttings from Coe's Comfrey, but the chickens ate a lot of what came up. Think I've only got like ten plants left right now, and they're so small I don't want to chop and drop em yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55