Blueberry Fields Forever!!!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

E1BA7397-A1FC-4AE0-928A-635125A9C10A.jpeg

Let me take you down
'Cause I'm going to Blueberry Fields
Nothing is real
And nothing to get hung about
Blueberry Fields forever

A Plant Mission is a successful plant mission when the car is full!

Couldn’t leave without picking up 7 dozen Blue Berries!

26918A04-F7E7-40D6-835D-543FBD23362D.jpeg

Blueberries are so amazing! Like so many plants we’ve talked about before, you can take a cutting and stick it in a pot and it will likely take if you care for it in the interim! That’s how these people propagate THOUSANDS OF PLANTS!

We got 7 different varieties and brought some back for our friends!!

277ACC63-A56A-49A5-9140-C9A8746D349C.jpeg

Blueberries are an ideal crop for homestead, garden or backyard! Very EASY to grow and maintain!

Seriously! Even if you have a so called black thumb, you can grow blueberries!!

As you know by now, we’re total geeks for plants and we are dedicating our lives to plant bidiversity!

I, Wren, used to spend HOURS at the Huntington Gardens, one of the most biodiverse plant collections and totally geek out on all the plants!! It made me so happy and I knew I had to devote my life to plants! Ini is the same way!

ECC682AE-4787-491B-A4E5-4681647B50BE.jpeg

The time is NOW!

  • It’s time to grow plants abundantly to share the harvest.
  • To inspire humanity.
  • To invigorate our bodies toward vibrant health!

Who needs exotic SUPERFOODS when we have backyard Blueberries?!?

FE42CC78-4123-4065-AE8D-AF409B357AC0.jpeg

Who’s with me?!?

Sort:  

My head just exploded with excitement that is so epic!!! So many kinds...you will have a field of them!! Wow that is crazy I do not think you could find that many varieties here, nor would it be affordable! Go you guys, #blueberryheaven!!

They were $5 per pot and I guess those size usually go for $14 or so so we are planning for the future!! Feeling blessed!! LOVE your enthusiasm!!!💙💙💙

5$ is a crazy good deal for bushes that size. Yes you!! That I could not have walked away from. Congrats!!

Those blueberries are called "american blueberries" around here and are the latest fad. As such, they are massively overpriced. A single cutting rooted in a pot costs more than a regular fruit tree! When they should be sold in bundles by the dozen on the cheap!

So I'm boycotting that plant... until someone gives me a bunch and I can propagate thousands and sale then cheaply and so everybody can afford some blueberries!

oh man @bobydimitrov!! somebody needs to get you some cuttings!! i would totally boycott too! it's funny because whatever the "exotics" are usually become wildly popular... so crazy! good luck finding some. haha! these were 2-3 year old plants and they sold for $5 ( I guess they usually sell for more- like $15, so we got a good deal), but still a cutting for as much as a tree!?!? wahhh! i like your plan to wait it out til you get some good genetics and FREE THE BLUEBERRY!

Blueberries are the best! I'd help you plant a few. I think you're making a wonderful decision.

Ok the offer stands!! Come helps us plant ! And thank you ;) can’t stop won’t stop!

If I'm in the neighborhood, I'll swing by! Any never stop blueberrying!

I read it like "Strawberry Fields" before I even opened this up! Haha Ok...I'll read the post now!

Ok, I've read it, I love it and I am with you!

Awesome! Hehe your brain was tricked a little ;) let’s all plant more berries!! 👍

I'm with you! Next time I'm at a blueberry u-pick I might have to pick some branches with my berries!!

Yes! It’s so simple to propagate! That’s a great idea hehe ;)

We actually grew 5 bushes last year, 3 varieties, of course I can't remember what kinds now, but yum! All delicious!

Awesome! Great job~~ and from those, you can make an infinite number over time~~ aren’t plants spectacular??

I am pretty good with plants and trees but blueberries have been challenging for me. The article says it is easy but I just haven't had a lot of success with them. I am still trying and have around 9 or so in a good sunny location so maybe this will be it. I am hoping to propagate some this year and expand what I have growing.

Sorry to hear you haven’t had much luck with BB. They thrive easily IF the pH is right. Pretty narrow range of 4.8-5.2. If you’re not there they won’t take up nutrients. But with some mulch and proper pH they will excel without much attention.

Best of luck

I haven't given up yet and have actually been growing some for several years. I got a tip from a grower to use peat moss which is high in ph as a growing medium and it has served me well. It is more about different things that has happened in the past such as one time my goats got into them which happen to love the leaves then there was dry conditions...different things. I will get it because I am not going to give up. I can grow most anything, have most of my life just for some reason blueberries have given me a hard time.

oh goodness - now that song is stuck in my head!

do the cuttings do better if they're new, green wood?

Hehehe ;)

Yes best on fresh green wood in spring. Make sure to get a few nodes on the cutting

cool, that sounds easy enough!

Do you have to mix high bush and low bush species for pollination?

nope. we got a few spartans to pollinate the Ozark Blue, but that is the only time he mentioned we needed another breed for pollination!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43