You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Move Over, Pluots! Spice Zee Nectaplums are My New Favorite Fruit

in #gardening7 years ago

I dreamed of having a house, with a spacious backyard like this. It's nice to be gardening in your own yard.
What's that fruit? I saw it for the first time. Hmmm the fruit of marriage between genetic. Definitely has a unique taste. Whether the fruit can be grown for the tropics?

Sort:  

These are relatively low chill fruits, so they might grow in the tropics, but you have so many wonderful fruits that can grow there also! I don't have much space either, but trying to use it well.

Nectaplums, never heard of that cross, sounds really good though. For growing, it depends, the problem with with tropical climates (I'm in South Florida) the humidity brings a lot of fungus growth to fruit trees, and citrus is "controlled". I tried regular plums and peaches years ago, they did "ok", but the growth was stunted and I eventually removed them due to fungus. I don't have any space in the house I live in now, but someday I will get to a place where I can grow more.

Yes, in South Florida, you're probably better off with tropical fruit trees. Lots of good ones to choose from, though!

You're always better off with trees.

Maybe later you can share the seeds of the fruit .. haha
Yes you are right, here many can be overgrown with various types of fruits. Have you ever tried the king of the fruit? durian ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64