I PROUDLY PRESENT MY GARDEN AND FIRST TOMATOES THIS YEAR...

in #gardening6 years ago

I took some photos of my tomatoes this week and this is what they now look like...


20180619_202109 (2).jpg


What is a garden without tomatoes :)

I started gardening 3 years ago and tomatoes were first on my list to grow. Nothing can be compared with the taste of fresh picked tomato, we LOVE them. And I give a lot of them to the rest of our family and friends, because I always grow too much of them :)

This is variety that is grown on the island of Krk for years. I wanted to grow some variety that is local and in my search through villages there, I found one granny that had the seeds and I asked for some. She was so glad that I asked because somebody will continue to grow them :)


20180619_201929 (2).jpg


On this patch I grow 8 plants of this variety, but I also grow cherry tomatoes, for the first time this year! Two plants of cherry tomatoes are in another bed, near my strawberries and the first one is almost ready to pick :)

On the photo below you can see how they look now...


20180619_205121 (2).jpg


I grow my garden without any pesticides. Last year I had to deal with those stink bugs. I guess they also love tomatoes :) This year I'm prepared to check for those better. They are already here, I saw them yesterday mating around :)


20180621_154154.jpg


So now is the good time to control their population. I don't like to kill anything, but this time I did. I searched around and I killed ten of those. What a smell that was :) Anyway, I think I'm addicted to gardening now. I love to read all about it and try new things...

When we came to live in this house 3 years ago - the garden was neglected and everything around looked so sad. Take a look how it was...


CAM01973.jpg


And here is how it looks now...


20180621_124851.jpg


I did this work all by myself and I learned a lot in these couple of years and I'm still learning. Nature is the best teacher for those who want to listen. It speaks without words, you can read it from it's works and all of her expressions...

There are more things in my garden that I grow and plan to grow, but this post was for my tomatoes :) I will document my gardening time here and if you have some ideas or advice - I'll be happy to hear them!


Until next time - stay curious, stay playful, stay connected with Life all-around...




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50