Got Eggshells? Do Not Throw Them ...They Are Good Fertilizers !!!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

eggshell 4.jpg
the roughly crushed eggshells are placed in this machine and I pulverize them til they get a finer consistency.

Some of you who have gardens or are gardeners might know this already. But for those who would be gardeners ....this is absolutely for you! Just a bit of organic fertilizer would give your vegetable a boost. Eggshells can be pulverized and can be added to enrich the soil with calcium.

The backyard may be very small, but it´s our fave area in summer. The pine hedges are tall now so that our area are well hidden from people who pass by vis a vis the fence. However small, the garden is frequented by the hundreds of slugs and snails each year and eat all whatever leaves they see, they will come get them in an overnight invasion, all plants become skeleton by then.

IMG_0113.JPG
One of my 3 cherry tomatoes planted in container and fertilized with pulverized eggshells

EGGSHELLS AS HOMEMADE ORGANIC FERTILIZER

Well friends, here´s how I make my homemade fertilizer... I simply wash the shells each time I use the eggs and let them dry, then when I have enough , I put them in a sturdy plastic bag and pound them a bit so they would crumble... then I used my kitchen machine to grind or pulverize them to make a finer powder and add them to my potted salad greens or any plants in my container garden. The plants will surely have the nutrients needed to grow and bear beautiful fruits because the egg shells contain calcium.

eggshell 2.jpg

Slugs and snails can be very devastating to your garden... so before they ruin your veggies, might as well make preventive measures... and that is, by scattering the pieces of roughly crushed eggshells around the plant... These would surely prevent them from crossing over because the shells act like blades for them... and besides, I use beer placed in a container and place it on the grounds where I think the slugs would come. They sip the beer until they get drunk and they will drown. Other slugs know the ordeal and sometimes they just escape and would surface and go to the earth again to look for the plant victims.

egg-shell-mulch-tulips-hellebores-gardenista.jpg
Source

The image above shows how to scatter the egg in your garden. You can also till the soil so that the shell gets combined with the soil... they are bio degradable at any rate. If you place the roughly crushed shells like this, the slugs would avoid your plants.

eggshell 7.jpg
how I distribute the fertilizers in the potted bell pepper.

eggshell 6.jpg

eggshell 3.jpg

eggshell 1.jpg

eggshell5.jpg
These were my harvested veggies last season and they are products of the eggshell fertilizers.

All images are properties of the author except for the one with the tulip photo which is with proper attribution.

Footer.gif

GIF provided by @gremayo

Sort:  

@Mers,

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot, and has been nominated by the curator group!

If chosen, your post may be featured in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.

An image from your post may be featured.

Please reply to this comment if you accept, and I will share your post with the other @Muxxybot curators!

Oh thank you!... It's an honor to be curated by your group of curators. Yes, I accept it.

Mers, Thanks for the tip. Keeping my egg shells for future use as fertilizers.
An avid fan of your blogs. Upvoted and resteemed 😊

Thank you I am blessed to have you following my blog... let´s keep steeming! Hehehe.

Amazing that even an eggshell can be repurposed for something useful. I never knew it before, thank you for the tip @mers

Hehehe.. it really works... You're welcome @heymattsokol. Thanks for commenting and for the visit.

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-68

As i remember you had mention this on your other blog about coffee ground as a good fertilizer also. Am i right ? Regards to all the drunken slug hihi..@ate mers

Indeed Neng, brewed coffee and tea remainders are good fertilizers, simply throw away the filters.. The filters are actually bio degradable ..but I don't collect them because I do not have a compost area in the garden. Thanks fir the reminder... I will soon post a content on that as well..

is this true???eggshells is useful for soil???it is great information for me,i mostly use animals waistges....or garbage,today your post is so beneficial for us,now i collect eggshells or use same just like you or get healthy plants

Yes @noorijaz dear, that is very true... because the eggshells contain calcium and is biodegradable in the soil... so please don´t throw your eggshells! hahaha..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60460.59
ETH 2624.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55