VIDEO: Stop! Stop! Don't Buy THIS For Your Homestead or GARDENS!steemCreated with Sketch.


This is one of the mistakes we made when starting our homestead and one you also can avoid. Burgess Seed and Plant Company and other companies like it have horrible reviews from angry customers upset at the quality of the products that were shipped to their homes.

Better Business Bureau LINK: https://www.bbb.org/central-illinois/business-reviews/mail-order-and-catalog-shopping/burgess-seed-plant-company-in-bloomington-il-90020754

One of the first things new homesteaders do is plant fruit trees. DON'T BUY FROM BURGESS or any other company that ships VARIOUS live trees or plants. Find a local nursery nearby OR order live plants from a company that specializes in only certain plants.

At the very least, always look at the online reviews for web products like these. We don't want you to make the same mistake we did!

If you liked this video and want to see more off grid homesteading content, please follow to our STEEMIT channel and share our videos with friends on social media! We love it when you share our videos! Also be sure to visit our blog for amazing homesteading articles that involve solar, growing gardens, raising livestock, and general off grid topics.

resteem.jpg

Sort:  

Ah, great post. I think most of us have fallen to such traps at least once, whether gardening catalogues or in other areas. Glad to see you guys on Steemit, just joined myself and hope to make a few posts. I don't even have land to homestead yet, but I am an avid gardener that loves to try crazy ideas on the small scale now. Spend a lot of time buying tools and such so hopefully I will be ready when I find the right piece of land. Who knows, maybe everyone will enjoy hearing from someone still looking for land... uh, and a wife... lol

Great! Thanks for stopping by!

Great job. I believe all have fell into this trap if you have been homesteading long. Someone needed to tell everyone. Thanks again

Love your content. I came here after listening to your podcast last weekend on youtube..Thanks for sharing

Been there done that . No thanks. Love your channel. Keep um comin.

Just so you know, one of the major plant vendors for Home Depot would ship things in from Washington State... over a 1000 miles ... and that's they types of plants being sold. So shop locally, and make sure your stuff is grown in a nursery locally, too.

But I LIKE low-quality, mass-market, hyped up fruit trees that look and sound so nice in the colorful catalogs! I mean, doesn't everyone!?! LOL

But they ... uh... are shipped dead and stuff!

it is always best to join a local horticultural society and attend their plant sales, I just bought a 3 year old Blue Plum tree from a lady who has it growing in our zone so I know it is hardy to our climate. I tend to buy most of my fruit tree;s and bushes locally because I know it will thrive. Especially Rhubarb. Thanks for the tip

That is a great idea! We learned the hard way!

Good to know. Seems these companies soak a lot of people all the time. Not sure how they manage to stay in business. I prefer to support local business when possible.

Great review. Might of save me some money.

I am really excited to see you all on Steemit. Can't wait to read more about your life and experiences off the grid on your homestead. Something we have considered, but at this point my family is far to "plugged in" to fully unplug from the system right away. Would love to live a more sustainable, and self sufficient life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61