You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Grow Cucumbers And Make Dill Pickles

in #gardening8 years ago

Way back when I was in junior high we had to make pickles in our Home Economics & Cooking class. They were the best tasting pickles I ever had and have never been able to find or replicate it. Maybe it's my taste buds? Anyway, I'm saving this to my recipes folder. :)

Sort:  

Pickles are so easy to make you really can't mess them up. We make them all the time and never buy store bought. It's as easy as filling a jar with water, vinegar, and spices, all very cheap ingredients. The store bought one's have stuff I can't pronounce in it that isn't even needed to make a pickle, so we make our own. For what a jar of pickles cost at the store I can make about 4 jars of homemade pickles.

I've been accumulating recipes because I'm going to have another garden one day - soon hopefully. A good friend has been working on his pickle recipe and he tweaks it for asparagus too. It's got quite a spicy kick but it's delicious. He's warned me: If he tole me his recipe he'd have to kill me. LOL I guess it's going in the grave with him!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10