Peppers, peppers, peppers! And a quick morning walk in the garden

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

A couple days ago, @jasonrussell brought home a huge bucket of peppers from a friend of his dad’s, and we’re going to put these things to good use! I’m getting them washed and chopped this morning and Jason is bringing home supplies to can them after work.

3D432FF5-1DEF-416E-B11B-4E135A05EB2C.jpeg

93B47666-6760-4CB1-8E82-A52153572A11.jpeg

He also brought some red onions, which I chopped up and separated in to freezer bags to use for future meals. All of these fresh peppers and onions are making me crave homemade salsa!!! Unfortunately, it’s not quite time for tomatoes, so I’ll have to wait.

F8CD9F48-AE49-4AFC-9AF1-C649640498C3.jpeg

Speaking of tomatoes, I watered the garden this morning and checked on our plants. The rabbits have eaten all of the bottoms of the plants and but maybe there is hope for the top ones. The squirrels are even worse because they can climb and steal whatever they want. Pesky little tree rats! ;)

35821D49-61AC-4C54-9EB8-265FEB50BBF9.jpeg

We took some advice from @amberyooper and set a trap next to one of our raised beds. Jason has only baited the trap a couple times, but they took the bait and got away with it! I’m considering a live trap, but our area is absolutely rampant with rabbits and squirrels, so I don’t know that it would do any good to release them.

But better news! Our peppers always seem to thrive since the pests tend to leave them alone.

FA2D7328-DBAF-4758-A0C0-65EFB4F5FB33.jpeg
The jalapeños are off to a great start. We love jalapeños, so they never go to waste around our house!

3A44CF13-8147-4D06-A002-91D5D4376F19.jpeg
Chinese five color peppers!

077F8044-B298-4AAF-97FA-EAED22EAB737.jpeg
i honestly don’t know much at all about this variety of pepper. But I think it’s neat how they grow upward and they’re very pleasing to look at! One friend told me that they’re not particularly flavorful; they’re mostly decorative. I can handle that ;)

AC292E8F-67FC-47E6-A8C1-A31B9CEF3D98.jpeg
Our cucumbers seem to be doing well also. We’ve already picked a couple, but I’m hoping for loads of them so I can make lots of pickles!

Just thought I would share a bit of my morning and some photos of the garden. If any of you have suggestions for our squirrel and rabbit problem, I would be happy to hear them! Have a great Friday!!!

Sort:  

ah i love the chinese 5 color peppers! i grew those last year and just fell in love with them. have fun making your salsas and other things :)

This is our first experience with them. They’re so pretty! Did you eat any of them last year? And if so, how did you incorporate them into your recipes? Hope you guys have a great harvest from your garden this year! :)

yes! i did eat them. they had a nice flavor that wasn't too hot... I think I made some into salsas (that I then froze- still have about 8 left!) and honestly i just like to eat them raw :) a bite of this, a bite of pepper, a bite of that, a little pepper ;) and thanks! i wasn't too motivated to start many seeds this year, but we did manage to get a good bit of peppers put in the ground, mostly anaheim chili and jalapenos :) actually the feed store offloaded about 15 jalapeno plants on us, they said they couldn't use them! your gardens look great!

Thank you! And awesome, I’ll have to try some in our salsa when the time comes. Also need to try them raw too. I love munching on peppers! :)

amamzing post loved it hoping to see more thsnks for sharing post

guys follow me for amamizng food benefits

They look fabulous! You guys have a "green" hand, like we use to say in Portuguese! Bon appetit!

Thank you! Here in the U.S. we call it a “green thumb” :) Jason and I both grew up in families of gardeners, but we’ve only been doing it ourselves for 5 or 6 years. Think we’re finally getting the hang of it ;)

Great to know! You are doing great!

Dang squirrels! They even destroy my pots of decorative flowers! To keep the raccoons out of my bird feeder I smear Vicks on the pole. They hate it, but there is one squirrel we have started calling Vicks Licker. Stupid squirrels! Is Hethur Ok? I miss her.

They are rotten little thieves! Haha, we just started using a live trap and so far my husband has only caught one and hauled it off a couple miles down the gravel road.

And I miss heather too! We talk a bit through text messages and she’s still active on Facebook. Think she’s going through a bit of a funk, so I hope things will look up for her soon. ❤️

Tell her I miss her, please! Good luck with the varmints! I read somewhere that you have to take them 15- 25 miles away, and even then they might return! Mark them and see if they return!

I will definitely tell her! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66