A citrus in my garden..

in #gardening7 years ago

What is calamansi?

Calamansi (or calamundin) is a citrus plant that is native in the Philippines. At home, we traditionally use this to cure common colds and flu. But even without illness, nothing beats freshly prepared calamansi juice which resembles lemonade. The juice goes well with sugar and honey. But aside from making calamansi juice, it has lots of other uses: meat tenderizer, skin whitening agent, eliminates body odor, flavor enhancer to dishes, stain remover and the list goes on.

I haven't seen calamansi being sold in the market so when a friend gave me a ripe fruit, my gardener-wannabe self immediately squeezed the fruit and took out the seeds from it. I know this plant is a slow-grower and the seeds take some time to germinate. To speed up the process, I used paper towel method to germinate the seeds.

The Fruit

These are already ripe but typically, calamansi fruit is used when the peel is still green.

IMG_4401.JPG

The Seeds

So excited I can't help to peek through the sprouts.

IMG_4511.JPG

Almost there...

IMG_4572.JPG

Time to get dirty.

Capture2.PNG

The Sprouts

The other one is a late bloomer.

IMG_4719.JPG

IMG_4746.JPG

The Seedlings

Coming along nicely and green!

IMG_4748.JPG

IMG_4820.JPG

IMG_4821.JPG

IMG_4850.JPG

IMG_4851.JPG

Here they are now!

IMG_4974.JPG

So green!

IMG_4979.JPG

Thanks for viewing!

@melaimomagwork

Sort:  

Very nice. Citrus fruits are my favorites but I have never heard of this kind. Sounds delicious.

It's common in my home country. I like it better than lime and lemon. :) I hope you will have a chance to find something like this. if only i could give youuuu :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46