Weekly update on my chili peppers. A Scorpion goes hydtoponic.

in #gardening7 years ago

Hello, fellows and welcome to my weekly update on the chili peppers I grow.
IMG_0656.jpeg

Last week I pruned this Yellow Moruga Scorpion and it already grows a lot of fresh leaves. Today I decided to give it some extra room for its roots, but didn’t have any soil... I decided to give it a new hydroponics environment.
I accidentally spotted a bucket of whey protein powder, and immediately decided that it will be a great opportunity if I make from this bucket a hydtoponics container.

IMG_0646.jpeg

I get the plant out of the old cup... and as you can see there are a lot of roots already developed. So... ext step was to carefully clear the roots from the ecxcessive soil and wash them with some water.

IMG_0648.jpeg

I meanwhile put the soil from the Scorpion in a pot to transfer another chili pepper - a Carolina Reaper in a bigger one. They all need a little mor extra space lately, but I will gradually transfer them.

The next step was to cut a hole in the cup of the Scorpion in order to take the roots out of there. I used some rock wool to steadily fix the plant in the cup, while the roots will be inside the nutrients and water solution.

IMG_0649.jpeg

Finally I cut a hole in the bucket’s lid in order to put the cup there. Here’s the final result:
IMG_0651.jpeg

I usually prepare the water for the nutrients at 6 pH, because this is the optimal environment for the roots. I then add the nutrients and check the pH level again. I want my plants to be happy and grow healthy. I redusced the strength of the hydroponics solution to about half the strength just to make sure the plant gets used to it.

The other plants just continue to grow and I am only sad that they don’t have flowers yet. But... time will tell!
IMG_0654.jpeg

That’s for now, see you next week!

Sort:  

Great looking root system on that one! Will be interesting to see how he does in the new hydroponic setup! =)

It’s already showing some progress... I’ll update its development in a day or two!

Interesting stuff. I enjoyed reading about this topic. Interested to see where this goes. Good luck!

great pictures, thanks for the update=)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71