Hoya carnosa plantssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

House plants are almost a necessity for me. When my outdoor garden goes to sleep for the winter months pampering my indoor “babies” helps me pass the time. I am fortunate to have plants in every room and window of my home An extra added benefit of a house full of plants is cleaner air to breathe. Two of my most impressive house plants are Hoyas.

The scientific name is Hoya carnosa that is pronunced “HOY-yuh kar-NOE-suh.” Fortunately the common name(s) Wax plant, and Wax flower are much easier to pronounce. The Hoya belongs to the family Asclepiadaceae. It is a vine thats flowers produce the most intoxicating aroma.

I acquired my Hoyas at different times and for different reasons but they are now equal in size and beauty. My first Hoya was purchased at Lowes in their garden center approximately ten years ago. It came home in a small two inch pot. In spite of it’s small size I placed it in a plant hanger in the west facing window in our bedroom where it remains today. As you can see from my photo it has thrived and grown into a majestic beauty. This plant consistently blooms throughout the summer months and the scent that fills the room is better than any store bought air freshener.


My Lowes Hoya

I received my second Hoya after the death of my beautiful Aunt Mary two years ago. She was in her 90’s when she passed away. Although she was a country farm girl with a green thumb her advancing age got the better of her, and it showed in the Hoya that I was given. Upon the delivery of the plant it was obvious it had problems. The vines were long and almost totally absent of leaves and, to make matters much worse it was infested with whiteflies.


My Aunt Mary's Hoya

Not having the heart to toss it into the trash I knew I had to nurse it back to health. I gave it a good dousing of Neem Oil backing that up with Sticky Whitefly Trap. With time patience, time, lots of pruning, and TLC my Aunt Mary’s Hoya turned the tide and started to thrive also enjoyed the light that a west facing window provides. This plant has also blessed us with the same sweet-smelling flowers as its sister plant.

During the summer months I take them outside and hang them from my pergola so I can give their leaves a thorough cleaning with the garden hose. Twice a year I give them a good dose of worm castings, that seems to be all the vitamin they need.

Since this posting was written during the winter months and it will be several months before my two Hoyas will bloom, I have shared an exact likeness of the blossom provided by the Missouri Botanical Garden.


Photo compliments of:

Sort:  

Hello @marymg2014,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you very much for the upvote! I plan to post on a regular basis in the gardening community on Steemit.

You're welcome. That's great to hear you will be posting regularly about gardening here on Steemit! Just a tip that the curation limit right now for the @gardening-trail is one post/day for everyone. I've enjoyed your posts! :D

Thanks for the tip. Now knowing that the curation limit @gardening-trail is one one post/day for everyone I feel blessed that I was chosen.

These are amazing plants! A few years back I was away from home for a week during late spring, and upon returning I vividly remember the scent of the flowering hoya I had indoors that greeted me! It's like nothing else!

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

I'm glad you were able to restore the plant from your aunt. Plants like that can really help connect us to our families. And I'm glad you were able tot "rescue" another plant from the Big Box Store! ; ) Both look like they are doing great under your care. I hope they flower for you soon! : )

Thank you. I love having this outlet to share my interests.

That's great to hear! I'm glad you have found your way to Steemit and look forward to reading more from you! Happy gardening!

Thanks so much... I am happy to be here.

I like that this The Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60422.26
ETH 3311.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37