Planting My Last Seeds Of The Year

in #gardening6 years ago

Today I planted my very last seeds of the year. This year I planted squash, pumpkins, snap peas, cucumbers, watermelon, bush beans, raspberries, a fig tree, current bushes, corn, and tomatoes. Out of everything I planted, the bush beans and squash were my greatest successes. We've only got a few more months of good weather before colder weather should arrive. There is just enough time for one more batch of bush beans.

My former pumpkin patch is now a bean patch

IMG_7167.JPG

Sadly, my pumpkin patch was a disappointment. All my pumpkin plants grew and got huge. Only problem is the plants produced plenty of male plants but no females. Without females you can't have pumpkins. I planted five different pumpkin patches all over our property (200 seeds) and got not female pumpkins. I got my husband to mow down my earliest planted patch and I'm replacing it with bush beans.

Some have already sprouted.

IMG_7165.JPG

My last bean patch planted in June

IMG_7166.JPG

I've got some bush beans producing beans right now that will be ready for picking in the next few days. Hopefully, I'll have one last big crop in my newly planted bed before we get a frost. I planted around 100 seeds today and now I'm done until next year. Bush beans are super easy to grow, they are producing beans within 50 days of planting, and they produce a lot of food. It's a shame some of my plants like the pumpkins tanked.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Very well taken advantage of this year, better impossible.

Hopefully in the new year if you are given female plants to harvest the pumpkins, and good results.

Oh, nooooo!I had no idea! You learn something new every day.

I used to get loads of nice gourds, but never any amazing pumpkins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44