Collecting Rainwater Transitions Into Collecting Snow

in #gardening6 years ago

Yesterday we had lots and lots of rain! The weekend was great. We had 80 degree weather and I was running around outside in my shorts and flip flops. Then, on Sunday the rain arrived and temperatures dropped again. Sunday I decided to make use of the rain by collecting rain water for my indoor garden.

IMG_3496.JPG

We really need to fix the gutters on this part of the carport. The one benefiit of the missing gutter is the water comes down in this one spot making it easy to put a bucket underneath to get lots of rain water.

IMG_3497.JPG

IMG_3507.JPG

My Indoor seed starting

IMG_3463.JPG

The rain water will be nice for all my seedlings. The pumpkins got transplanted into larger water bottle containers. They are growing fast. The asparagus are sprouting and a few watermelons are popping up.

Sadly The Rain Turned To Snow!!! No!!!

IMG_3516.JPG

IMG_3524.JPG

IMG_3521.JPG

Today has been frigid. The wind has been blowing hard and the snow has been swirling. I can't remember it snowing in April in a long time. I definitely over winter. I'm ready for warmth so I can move my seedlings into their home outside in the garden. The pumpkins might need to be transplanted into a larger container if the weather doesn't warm up soon. My little garden is thriving in the kitchen but I can't wait to move it outside and enjoy spring finally.

Sort:  

Hello @marxrab, only with the images remind me when I was a child and ran in the rain, through the patio of the house. Now I live in the city and that is one of the options for watering my plants. It is impressive as the rain water makes them grow.

Thanks for commenting. I think rain water makes my plants grow much faster. It's harder to garden living in the city. I always had containers gardens when living in bigger cities. I'd collect rain for my plants in buckets on the porch.

After the rain then snowing .. it never happened in my area of ​​Aceh, Indonesia. :)
I like when it rains, many remind the memories of the past ..

Her pumpkin grows so good. May the cold weather not affect the growth process.

I normally love snow. It is very pretty. I have heard it doesn't snow in Aceh. I wish I could send you some. It's nice and cold and pretty. :)

it is great "if you send some snow here". :)
Yes, the snow is so white and soft, that's what I see on television and from some reading.

We have only two seasons here, now the dry season.

It's a crazy year, here. We're getting another 6-8 inches of snow tomorrow night and Wednesday. I can't wait.

On the bright side, your pants look to be sprouting nicely!

This is a great idea,preventive measures like this can educate lot of people and we can save lot of rain water.

#save the water for better

#save the water for better

I remember April snows in the midwest... Sometimes, even as late as May!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Wow! Your indoor garden looks so cute! :)

What the heck is going on with that weather. I wish you sun and warm ;) One good thing with your gutters, you have absolutely the best way to collect the water. You gave me an idea for my future house ;) I hope one day I will have it ;))) Have a wonderful day ;)

WOW! Got to say that makes me feel better in some weird way. I cannot it got to you too!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51