Mowing The Lawn For The Last Time This Year + Thoughts On Political Correctness

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

The lawn needs to be mowed one more time this year.

This is how it looked like under our apple trees until my lawnmower turned those leaves into small pieces that will decompose before next summer.


A few days ago, I took part in a discussion in a Finnish language investing Facebook group where somebody had shared an article from a tabloid where a young single woman in Helsinki was interviewed. The interview was about how she would hire a cleaner once a month to clean her 28 sq.m studio apartment for which she'd pay 75 euros. The guy who shared the article commented on it by saying that, in 40 years, she'd would've been able to accumulate €250,000 by investing the money instead. It seems people hiring cleaners is a becoming something of a trend among well-paid professionals who lead busy lives.

Lots of people chimed in. While I think it's anybody's personal matter how they use their own money, I commented that cleaning a studio apartment is such a minor chore that if I were on the market I wouldn't prefer to marry a woman for whom that is too much.

All hell broke loose.

I came under a barrage from a few fiery feminists and their male "allies" for daring to suggest such a chauvinistic notion! Some of them got sarcastic and suggested that men can clean, too!

But I stand by what I said because what I said was not chauvinistic to any degree.
I normally do the weekly cleaning in our household. I clean all the bathroom furniture in all of the bathrooms and vacuum the floors every week. In summer, I mow the lawn once a week. In winter, I do the snow removal. If it's been snowing a lot during a night, that could mean removing literally tons of snow from the walkways and the driveway. My wife takes care of the cooking and the laundry. She also does most of the yard work save for the heavy lifting because it's a hobby for her. I keep the kitchen clean. This is absolutely nothing unusual. It's a roughly 50/50 split of chores in a household of two working parents.

It's just that I wouldn't feel like having to shell out hundreds per month to get any basic chores done. That someone cannot be bothered to clean a studio apartment when single raises the question whether they are going to be willing to clean a family home - or trade their share of that for something else - when there is a bunch of kids making a mess of things on a daily basis.

A lot of the time feminists seem like monocle-sporting old generals who cannot help but fight the wars of a bygone era over and over again.

Sort:  

WOW...75 euros for a 28 sq.m studio apartment i think i will give up Steemit and go into the cleaning business...lol 👍

It's not as much as it seems. The bill includes travel time, taxes and pension contributions and whatnot. That's most likely the bill for two hours. You can spend 1-2 hours cleaning even a small apartment like that if you do a very thorough job.

I would personally rather keep a place like that tidy enough myself as part of my daily and weekly routine than pay for a very thorough cleaning once a month.

Yep i was bought up to be tidy and clean so i prefer to do it all on my little own..lol 😎

Mowing the law? Somewhat apt here ;)

Thanks for pointing that out. I need a proofreader...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I commented that cleaning a studio apartment is such a minor chore that if I were on the market I wouldn't prefer to marry a woman for whom that is too much.

All hell broke loose.

Lol, people get hilariously easily triggered nowadays. Male of female – I wouldn't like to live with someone who can't clean up his/her own mess!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Hi @markkujantunen, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.093 which ranks you at #3618 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 99 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73