Nettles - Do You Love Them?

in #gardening6 years ago

aca63909-caf4-460c-a151-cfb708e5107b.jpeg


When you see a nettle patch like this sprouting up in your garden, what are your first thoughts?
Is it: Oh no!!! Let me get rid of it as fast as I can!
Or.
Is it: I am so happy!! Nettles are growing. I can't wait to eat some!
What is your answer?
Mine is yay!!! Nettles!! I am so happy.
Nettles are so full of nutrition and they are delicious!!
Now, don't get me wrong. I don't enjoy getting stung by nettles and do my best to avoid that. I either harvest with gloves on my hands but more often, I grab them with some tongs and cut them with scissors.
They go into my green smoothies, salads and into soups. I also dry them for tea and of course, I also use the fresh ones for tea.
Once they are chopped, dressed or cooked - no more stinging. Just deliciousness.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

This is very interesting! Thanks for sharing. I've never eaten nettles, but it's good to know that they're edible :)

Yes!! Just make sure they are young - before they go to seed.

When you see a nettle patch like this sprouting up in your garden

I don't have a garden.
Proceeds to cry in a corner

I could sure go for some nettle soup though. Or tea!

stop crying!! the prompt is up! You can write your dream garden into it :)

sees the prompt is "Dread
You changed it for me, didn't you?
I want to be mad, but at the same tim am so thankful. My feelings are confused!

Thank you!

I've only ever read the word Nettles, I never considered them a source of nutrition. Do they have a strong flavor or a mild one? I don't know that Nettles grow around here.

I am sure they grow around your area. Just find them where the dog don't pee 🤪

I think the young ones are pretty mild...

lol warning noted No Dog Per areas! Thanks @mariannewest :)

One of these days I am going to have to try nettles. I think it is the stinging part that keeps putting me off.

Yes, you do best by wearing gloves and using tongs. But if you get stung - I heard it is good against arthritis lol

I am always stiff and sore from work. Maybe I should find a patch and roll around in it.😉

But seriously, nettle is on my list to try this year.

😱 Don't roll in them :)

Let me know if you like them!!

I had no idea you could eat them!

They are best when they are young - you don't want eat them after they go to seed.

Now that you say that I remember hearing this.

I also use nettle manure for the garden,
It helps grow the plants of the garden!

Yes!! for sure. they are so nutritious for everything!

I don't think They grow in my country, what exactly are they?

this is the latin name: Urtica dioica

And this is the wikipedia entry
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urtica_dioica

I don't know where you live - but it likes a bit of moisture. It grows here only in the late winter after we had some rain.....

That plant although touching it we can injure ourselves, it has some incredible medicinal applications!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82